Weir Wins Ellerfield Series

by | May 17, 2018 | Latest News, Results

Speedway Sedans Australia News

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Tim Weir has won the Ellerfield Financial Planning King of the Mountain Challenge for the second year in a row after the final round was held at Corbets Group Mothar Mountain Speedway last Saturday Night.

Twenty eight drivers competed in this seasons series over three rounds after the first was rained out making it the biggest and most competitive series to date.

Going into the final round with Weir only 82 points ahead, the six drivers behind him of Darryl Oliver, Andrew Pickering, Hayden Turner, Brock Hancock, Matt Bielby and Dennis Shallcross could all still take out first place in the series.

Heat wins went to Matthew Claydon, Tim Weir, Darryl Oliver and Dennis Shallcross.

The top six positions were again drawn out of a hat for their starting position in the feature. Row one would see Hayden Turner out of Pole Position with Darryl Oliver who was having a fantastic night with a first and second and a third in his heats starting from position two. Row two had Tim Weir out of third with Matthew Claydon out of fourth, with the third row being completed by Andrew Pickering and Brayden Mooney.

Oliver and Turner got a great jump at the start of the 20 lap feature race with Oliver gaining an early lead over the field.

Weir and Mooney moved into second and third place relegating Turner back to fourth position before having to retire on lap nine.

An early yellow light saw the field regroup and with Double Row restarts in place. Oliver being the Pole Car choose to start on the outside line but on the green light, with Weir able to move into first to lead the feature until the finish.

Final Placings in the feature
1st Tim Weir
2nd Darryl Oliver
3rd Brayden Mooney.

On behalf of Corbets Group Mothar Mountain Speedway and Ellerfield Financial Planning we would like to thank all those who competed in this seasons Challenge!

Final Points
1st Tim Weir 400
2nd Darryl Oliver 289
3rd Andrew Pickering 264
4th Hayden Turner 231
5th Dennis Shallcross 201
6th Brayden Mooney 192
7th Brock Hancock 179
8th Matt Bielby 172
9th Matthew Claydon 148
10th Bevan Burton 122
11th Gary Cartwright 111
12th Harrison Chown 95
13th Toby Cryer 94
14th Frank Packer 83
15th Paul Bielby 42
16th Rodney Midolo 40
17th Robery Smith 40
18th Bree Webber 36
19th Gerry Flood 32
20th Rachael Jenkins 30
21st Mark Mathers 29
22nd Richard Kay 24
23rd Russell Booth 22
24th Cole Bielby 16
25th Graham Dawson 14
26th Brendan Webber 10
27th Shane Laurie 10
28th Jack Kay 10