WA Street Stock Title Wide Open

by | Apr 25, 2018 | Latest News

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

The Speedway Sedans WA, Street Stock State Title will be held this weekend at the Carnarvon Speedway, with a very strong field entered, for what is a highly anticipated event.

The Title is wide open, with forty six drivers set to take part, with the field only featuring one driver to have won a title previously, Wayne Thomson, a two times winner, who will be competing in his 29th consecutive title.

Corey Sandow who finished second in the National Title earlier this year will be contesting the title, traveling from Victoria to take on the West Australians. Only one interstate driver has ever won the West Australian Street Stock Title, being Anthony Beare from South Australia on four occasions.

The field does include Ethan Genev who finished third last year, Jace Kempton and Peter Herbert who finished second and third respectively in 2016, along with Paul Briggs and Hayden Norman who finished on the podium in 2015. The winner of both of those events, Jason Oldfield will also be in Carnarvon, but this year as an official.

Michael Hamon is also in the field, a two times National Champion who has never won the West Australian title, having placed second twice and third once.

Drivers contesting the event will travel from the far north of the State (Kununurra and Derby) to the far South (Esperance and Albany), the East (Kalgoorlie) and all points in between.

Official practice will be held on Thursday from 4.00pm WST, with racing on Friday and Saturday nights. Race Monitor and Speedhive will be available to access results, which will also be posted on Facebook.


W00 Hamish Macalpine
W3 Gavin Minty
W4 Ethan Genev
W5 Jeff Rogers
W6 Hayden Norman
W7 Michael Hamon
W9 Marty Kelly
W10 Damon Thomson
W11 Rowan Drysdale
W12 Paul Briggs
W14 Clint Hadley (16)
W15 Wayne Thomson
W16 Jack Barnewall
W17 Bradley Minshull
W19 Jamie Terkildsen
W21 Evan Wakefield
V22 Corey Sandow
W23 Steven Griffiths
W24 Brodie Dunn (44)
W25 Peter Huntjens
W26 David Padmore
W27 Damon Lyall
W28 Tim Coxall
W29 Jake Hoath
W31 Cody Avins
W32 Ben Ferris
W35 Craig Clayton
W37 Kane Munro
W39 Allan Couper (withdrew)
W42 Matt Herbert
W44 Peter Herbert
W47 Jarrod Rick
W49 Stephen O’Dowd (19)
W52 Paul Bowman
W55 Jace Kempton
W57 Jeremy Ferris (37)
W62 Shane Beaumont
W66 Ben Norman
W72 Russell Gunn
W74 Jhye Kent
W77 Barry Mason
W79 David Linthorne (19)
W81 Damien Amato
W85 Peter Dowie (88)
W88 Wade Mason
W199 Phil Lycholit
W318 Freddy Kinsella

Photo above: Wayne Thomson, competing in his 29th consecutive Title. Photo courtesy of Fastlane Photography.