by | Jun 26, 2022 | NT, SSA Junior Sedans

Image by Darwin Junior Sedans

South Australian & New South Wales Junior Sedan Champion Aaron Tranter has added the Northern Territory Title to his impressive 2021/2022 season after taking victory at Darwin’s Northline Speedway on Saturday Night.

Tranter crossed the line just 0.073 of a second ahead of Victorian Champion Kayne Dellar and Taj Vanzetti both from Western Australia.

Thirty Four Junior Sedans were on hand for the 2022 Northern Territory Title which was being held at the Northline Speedway for the first time since 2015.

Darwin local River Spitzbarth endured a tough weekend as the driver of the NT43 Mitsubishi Mirage had to qualify into the main event via the fifteen lap B Main.

Newman’s Donny Davis and Dellar would share the front row for the twenty five lap main event with Dellar leading the opening laps.

After a great run throughout the heat race competition Kalgoorlie’s Tyler Scott came to grief early in the main event ending his campaign.

The two Western Australian’s lead away at the restart with two laps completed ahead of Tranter and Taj Vanzett’s who’s Daihatsu Charade underwent a massive repair to be race ready for the A Main after a significant crash in his final qualifying heat race.

Donny Davis would take the lead as Tranter moved into second on lap eight before taking the lead on lap ten as the leaders worked their way through the lap traffic.

The race appeared to be in Tranter’s keeping as the laps wound down as Dellar and Davis rounded out the top three.

With five laps remaining the yellow lights would come on when Mitch Binning came to a stop.

After the restart Dellar immediately challenged Tranter for the lead with pair banging panels in the battle for the Northern Territory Title as Davis took second from Dellar in a mad scramble in the final laps.

It would be a dramatic lap twenty three as Tranter and Davis came together as Dellar and Vanzetti tried to capitalise as the leaders come together.

The yellows would come as Tranter came to the white flag as Davis headed infield in the TLC Contracting Mitsubishi Mirage after a great run in Darwin.

A two lap run to the flag was all that remained in the main event as Tranter, Dellar and Vanzetti battled for the lead.

In a thrilling fashion all three would come together racing to the chequered flag with Tranter crossing the line by just 0.073 of a second from Dellar, Vanzetti with Victorian Kiarna Barton and Western Australian Brody Day the top five.

Sixteen of the twenty two finalists would complete the race in what was a great exhibition of SSA Junior Sedan racing.

Official Result of the 2022 SSA Junior Sedan Northern Territory Title

A Main, 25 Laps- 1. S45 Aaron Tranter, 2. W95 Kayne Dellar, 3. W121 Taj Vanzetti, 4. V19 Kiarna Barton, 5. W8 Brody Day, 6. V4 Jayden Lock, 7. NT55 Deegan Sherwood, 8. W24 Cade Munro, 9. NT43 River Spitzbarth (24), 10. W61 Hannah Tomkins (24), 11. NT8 Anthony Du Preez (24), 12. NT11 Jamie Jones (24), 13. NT21 Jacob Foley (23), 14. NT84 Natasha Tebeck (23), 15. NT24 Zachary Czoloszynski (23), 16. NT53 Blake Overend (22), DNF W3 Donny Davis (23), NT5 Jessica Foley (21), NT69 Bradley Fenton (21), W10 Mitch Binning (20), W08 Tyler Scott (1), NT72 William Prest (0), Winning Margin 0.073, Quick Time W3 Donny Davis 18.421.