Speedway Fires Back Into Life This Saturday

by | Jun 11, 2020 | SSA Junior Sedans, SSA Modified Sedans, SSA Production Sedans, SSA Street Stocks, WA

Author-Allan Smallwood SSA Media

The first race meeting to be held anywhere in Australia since the only onset of the COVID-19 pandemic will be conducted this Saturday afternoon at the Shark Bay Speedway located in the township of Denham in Western Australia.

It’ll be eighty five days since a real world Speedway race meeting has occurred as Western Australia will see a number of venues reopen their gates over the next few weeks for competitors and specatators alike due to the easing of restrictions by the State Government in the Golden State.

Solid fields of Speedway Sedans Australia category cars have entered for the daytime show which features the annual Street Stock Trophy Day supported by Oakley Earthworks.

Carnarvon’s Jace Kempton and Moora’s Gavin Minty should renew hostilities after having a great battle at the Shark Bay venue in 2019 during the Far Western Championships aboard their Holden Commodore’s.

The Mason’s Barry & Wade from Carnarvon will also feature in the SSA Street Stocks along with former Denham resident Ben Norman.

SSA Junior Sedan numbers in the Gascoyne region are on the rise with great fields of Top Stars and New Stars set to do battle.

Racing gets underway from 12pm.  


SSA New Star Junior Sedans (7)
W7 Haylee StrelleyW9 Kaylee FrancisW22 Seth WestW47 Beau MorganW67 Ella RicettiW72 Jacob BellW77 Tayla Burton

SSA Top Star Junior Sedans (9)
W13 Olivia Smith 
W16 Alicia Short 
W17 Kurtis Blackburn 
W19 Dakota Tesling  
W26 Rory Elsum-Beaumont  
W44 Jaidyn Turner 
W71 Chayse Jackson 
W117  Travis Strelley  
W119 Josh Ahearn 

SSA Street Stocks (13)
W3 Gavin Minty
W13 Shaun Burton
W14 Barry Roberts
W17 Greg Hewitt
W23 Matt Taverniti
W27 Trent Lyall
W31 Bryan Riddick
W55 Jace Kempton
W66 Ben Norman
W67 Quoin Sellenger
W77 Barry Mason
W88 Wade Mason
W95 Gordon Wyatt

SSA Production Sedans (6)
W3 Dave Herbert
W4 Allan Harper
W11 Ashley Baker
W13 Jimmy McGiveron
W21 Tony Cotter
W99 Benny Curtin

 SSA Modified Sedans (5)

W6 Kathryn Harper
W13 Mick Reynolds 
W47 Jarrod Rick
W77 Greg Robinson
W111 Glen Harper