by | Apr 14, 2024 | QLD, SSA Super Sedans

Press Release Courtesy of the Super Sedan Association.

Zac Pascoe has claimed the win in round thirteen of the McCosker Super Sedan Series brought to you by the AFCO Shock Doctor, and the Ultimate Super Sedan Championship Grand Finale at Hi-Tec Oils Toowoomba Speedway.

In the opening heat of the night ‘The Joker’ Steve Jordan took a narrow victory over Queensland and Tasmanian Champion Brad Pascoe in second, and Victorian Todd Atkins in third.

National Champion Darren Kane was too good in heat two, leading home Sam Hughes in second, and Justin Randall in third.

JJ Hamilton (Hamilton Racing) took out a battle of the young guns in heat three, leading home Brad Pascoe in second, with Matty Pascoe rounding out the podium in third.

Sean Black led the way in the final heat of the night on his home track, taking the win from Hayden Brims in second, and Zac Pascoe in third.

Brad Pascoe was at the top of the points standings after two rounds of heats, and qualified on pole position for the roll a dice dash, which he led from start to finish to claim $500.

Pascoe opted to invert the first six rows for the feature race in a bid to chase an additional $2500 in prize money for the thirty lap main event.

After the invert Matty Pascoe would start from pole position, with Atkins on his outside.

Mick Nicola started from third on the grid with Brims joining him on the second row. Randall would start from the inside of the third row, with Zac Pascoe starting on his outside in sixth.

Pascoe and Atkins barrelled into turn one side by side, the battle continued down the back straight into turns three and four, before the caution light was on for a spinning Hamilton in turn three.

Pascoe took the lead from the second start, with Atkins settling in behind in second. Zac Pascoe jumped to third from sixth on the opening lap, Nicola ran fourth from Brims in fifth.

Zac Pascoe took second from Atkins on lap three, and his ascension to the lead was complete on lap four when he took the lead from his Dad with twenty six laps remaining.

The battles through the pack were wild, with cars running two and three wide right through the field.

It all came unstuck for Trent Wilson Michael Hally, and Bob McCosker with the caution light out for the second time with twenty one laps remaining.

Zac Pascoe led again at the resumption from Matty Pascoe in second, Atkins in third, Brims took fourth from Nicola who ran fifth.

The caution light was out again on lap twelve after contact between Atkins and Brims saw the nose torn off the Brims car after contact with the inside wall.

Another caution before the restart saw the race cut to twenty laps which left eight laps to run.

Zac Pascoe again led at the resumption from Matty Pascoe in second, Hughes in third, Kane in fourth, and Brad Pascoe in fifth.

Brad Pascoe powered around the outside of Kane to take fourth and a lap later took the final spot on the podium from Hughes with four laps to run.

The caution would be out again for Nicola and Jordan after contact in turn three, and that would be all she wrote, with the race declared after seventeen laps.

Zac Pascoe claimed the first feature win of his career in his home state, adding to his Esperance victory earlier in the season. Matty Pascoe crossed the line second, ahead of Brad Pascoe in third completing a Pascoe 1-2-3.

Kane got the better of Hughes on the final lap to claim fourth with Hughes in fifth. Black was next across the line in sixth, from Tasmanian David Nichols in seventh who powered through the field after starting from twentieth.

Hamilton crossed the line eighth which was enough to secure the inaugural Ultimate Super Sedan Championship by just four points.

Justin Randall was next across the line in ninth, from Hally who rounded out the top ten.

Super Sedans will be back in action this weekend at for the East Coast Grand National, and the McCosker Super Sedan Series will return on the 11th of May for the series finale and GP53 at McCosker Gladstone Speedway.

McCosker Super Sedan Series R13 & Ultimate Super Sedan Championship GF

A Main – 17 laps

1. B6 Zac Pascoe, 2. N1 Matty Pascoe, 3. Q1 Brad Pascoe, 4. A1 Darren Kane, 5. B4 Sam Hughes, 6. Q26 Sean Black, 7. T3 David Nichols, 8. B48 JJ Hamilton, 9. Q33 Justin Randall, 10. C98 Michael Hally, 11. N77 Hayden Brims, 12. V36 Todd Atkins, 13. LV42 Michael Taylor, 14. B8 Graeme Rangihuna, 15. LV26 Bradley White, DNF V3 Mick Nicola (16), B10 Steve Jordan (16), Q44 Trent Wilson (12), N3 Tania Smith (12), GL39 Bob McCosker (9), N29 Zac Brims (5), DNS RK3 Matt Williams

The Super Sedan Association is proudly supported by;

McCosker Contracting

AFCO Shock Doctor (ASD)

Ash Media

Brims Coastal Cement

Cush Clothing Co

Down Under Graphics

Fusion Graphix & Signs

Ian Boettcher Race Parts (IBRP)

Integrity Extended Warranties

Kempy Race Pipes

Larsen Air Conditioning Hire

QLD Coast Concrete

Think Investment Realty