by | Jan 24, 2021 | SSA Street Stocks, WA

Images by SWB Photography

Jamie Oldfield has won his fourth WA Street Stock Title at Albany’s Attwell Park Speedway after a thrilling forty lap final before a bumper Sunday night crowd at the South Coast venue.

Oldfield cruised to a seven second victory after earlier enduring some tough battles with the likes of Hayden Norman, Jack Barnewall and Anthony Beare who all fell by the wayside during the race.

Seventy four cars began night two of competition with the final round of heat racing seeing some great battles between of the heavy hitters of the class.

2018 WA Champion Hayden Norman rocketed from position ten to claim victory in heat twenty two, storming past Jason Batchelor on the final lap.

Daniel Ameduri held off Damon Lyall to win heat twenty three with four time WA Champion Anthony Beare from Mount Gambier in South Australia winning his third heat of the WA State Title in heat twenty four.

Collie’s Phil Lycholit took the thirty six points in heat twenty five, as the likeable driver was very emotional post race as he thanked his family and supporters.

The East Pilbara Tyre Service Holden Commodore of Craig Clayton drove a smart race in heat twenty six as he held off Linton Dickerson and two time WA Champion Wayne Thomson.

Former Victorian Resident Lenny Bates brought his Ford Falcon home first in heat twenty seven with the final heat race of the weekend going to Derby’s Jake Hoath who was having a great run in the State Title.

The ODH Mechanical Holden Commodore of Paul Joss finally had some luck after a tough run in the first C Main as he advanced forward after an eventful race, with the second C Main going to the best presented car in the event of James Westerman.

Carnarvon’s Jace Kempton aboard his Novus Glass Holden Commodore jumped from the third row at the start of the first B Main and lead the entire twenty laps.

South Australian and Northern Territory Champion Steve Gartner was a high profile retiree in the first B Main along with Jack Favero and Lenny Bates after a torrid battle for the final two transfer spots.

Lycholit and Brinley McGaffin who worked his way back through the field after being penalised earlier in the race advanced to the A Main along with Kempton.

1995 National Champion Mark Jennings survived the chaos in the second B Main to cross the line first ahead of Shane Whild and Daniel Stanley from Margaret River.

The Mount Barker Tyre & Exhaust Ford Falcon of Andrew Tregoning hit the wall heavily in the front straight after avoiding a spinning car while running in the top five.

Twenty Two Cars went four wide prior to the start of the A Main of the 2020/2021 AVEG SSA Street Stocks WA State Title before a very appreciative crowd.

Hayden Norman and Anthony Beare occupied the front row with Damon Lyall who started from position three hitting the lead on the opening lap.

Before long Norman, Beare and Lyall would race for the lead three wide before Lyall spun in turn one after hitting the front on lap five.

Two Time National Champion Mick Hamon retired on lap six with engine issues which plagued his State Title campaign as Norman lead away at the restart.

Jamie Oldfield was soon in the lead pack and was joined by 2019 WA Champion Jack Barnewall as the top five thrilled the big Albany crowd with some sensational Sedan racing.

Beare hit the front as Norman, Oldfield and Barnewall battled for the lead and were soon joined by Paul Briggs in a titanic battle for the State Title.

Briggs retired with suspension damage on lap twenty four as a number of spinning cars further back in the field continually brought the race to a stop.

As the laps wound down Oldfield took the lead from Beare as the five time National Champion bounced off the concrete wall and fell back to third place.

A eight lap restart brought Oldfield back to the pack and lead away from Barnewall as Hayden Norman took his Ford Falcon to the infield while sitting in third place.

Barnewall and Oldfield raced wheel to wheel around Attwell Park with Barnewall hitting the lead before a spun Wayne Thomson brought the yellow lights on once more.

Oldfield lead away from Barnewall and Beare with disaster striking the Kalgoorlie driver as he headed infield with a flat right rear tyre.

The National Champion was soon on the infield after hitting the wall while in second place damaging the rear suspension on his Holden Commodore.

Damon Lyall who was sent to the rear of the field earlier in the race was all of a sudden in second place aboard his Autopro Carnarvon Ford Falcon with Albany local Paul Bowman staying out of the trouble to move into third place.

One of the Western Australia’s all time greats of Speedway Sedan Racing would not be caught as he brought home the Novel Smash Repairs Holden Commodore to his fourth State Title victory seven seconds ahead of Lyall and Bowman.

Manjimup’s David Fall capped off a great weekend to finish fourth from Peter Herbert who struggled without power steering for much of the race to limp home in fifth.

Derby’s Brinley McGaffin stayed out of trouble to finish sixth from Shane Whild, Wayne Thomson, Daniel Stanley and Phil Lycholit the ten finishers.

Oldfield was a very popular winner and now joins Paul Edwards and Anthony Beare as a four time winners of the SSA Street Stocks WA State Title.

The SSA Street Stock racing continues in the West next Saturday Night at the Make Smoking History Bunbury Speedway with the Mainspray Summer Cup.

Official Result of the 2020/2021 AVEG SSA Street Stocks WA State Title

A Main, 40 Laps- 1. WA1 Jamie Oldfield, 2. W27 Damon Lyall, 3. W52 Paul Bowman, 4. WA10 David Fall, 5. W44 Peter Herbert, 6. W5 Brinley McGaffin (39), 7. WA2 Shane Whild (39), 8. W15 Wayne Thomson (39), 9. WA18 Daniel Stanley (39), 10. W199 Phil Lycholit (39). DNF: S46 Anthony Beare (34), W16 Jack Barnewall (33), W6 Hayden Norman (32), W29 Jake Hoath (31), W12 Paul Briggs (24), WA28 Tim Coxall (23), W8 Dave Watson (22), S21 Mark Jennings (19), WA55 Jace Kempton (15), W25 Bradley Roberts (10), W4 Ethan Genev (6), W7 Mick Hamon (6). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 7.426. Fastest Lap: 20.019 S46 Anthony Beare.