National Super Sedan Field Revealed

by | Mar 22, 2019 | Latest News


Speedway Sedans Australia News

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Nominations for the Speedway Sedans Australia, National Super Sedan Title have now closed, with the event attracting an excellent field, to be held at the Heartland Raceway, Moama, on Friday, 19 April 2019 and Saturday, 20 April 2019.

The field of 44, is the largest field since the Murray Bridge title in 2014, which attracted 51 entries with 49 starting.

This years entry list has at least one driver from every State, headed by two times and defending Champion, Callum Harper from Tasmania.

Four National Champions will be in the field, with Darren Kane, Mick Nicola Snr and Matty Pascoe joining Harper in the incredibly strong line-up, with the quartet winning ten National Titles between them.

More than a quarter of the field have won a State Title, twelve of them in fact, winning a massive 58 titles.

As it stands every State Champion will also be in the field, taking into account there are two State Titles (South Australia and Tasmania) being held this weekend.

The Moama venue will be conducive to some great Super Sedan racing, with thirteen drivers from Victoria, eleven drivers from Queensland, nine drivers from New South Wales, five drivers from South Australia, three drivers from Tasmania and two West Australians making up the field.

Only four drivers have been on the podium in the last three seasons, with Callum Harper winning twice, with Darren Kane winning the other while finishing third in the other two. Matty Pascoe has finished second and third in the previous two titles, along with winning in 2015, while Dave Gartner was the runner-up in 2016 and 2017.

Darren Kane has podiumed in the last five titles finishing third in four of them, and a record five times in the last eight seasons.

Harper has won seven Feature races going into this weekend, more than any other Super Sedan driver, with West Australian Champion, Chris Pavlovich, amassing five along with Darren Kane.

Three times Champion Mick Nicola Snr and fellow veteran Wayne Randall have been racing as well as ever and will also figure prominently, with Ryan Alexander, Peter Nicola and Sean Black also part of the forty four strong field.

The event will be supported by Production Sedans, with further details to be revealed in coming days in the lead-up to the event.

V0 Lucas Roberts
A1 Callum Harper
V2 Peter Nicola
V3 Michael Nicola
Q4 Leigh Williams
Q6 Wayne Randall
N7 Wayne Dick
S8 Dave Gartner
W8 Chris Pavlovich
T8 Steve Latham
V11 Anthony Nicola
Q12 David Musch
V14 Brent Coleman
Q15 Gavin Northfield
Q15 Matty Pascoe
V16 Ash Bergmeier
V19 Kenneth Pierce
N21 Darren Anning
S22 Paul Blenkiron
Q22 Dale Christensen
V22 Jason Picone
V23 Mick Nicola Jnr
N23 Andrew White
V24 David Mackenzie
V25 Adam Box
Q26 Sean Black
Q32 Kyall Fisher
N33 Mark Towers
V34 Jamie Collins
Q36 Darren Kane
Q44 Trent Wilson
S47 Ryan Alexander
N47 Daryl Moon
N47 Tyson Moon
T48 Wayne Dillon
V56 Neil Witnish
N56 Wayne Aylett
N57 Paul Kranitis
N75 Kurt Kranitis
Q76 Ian Brims
W82 Gary Higgs
S93 Kym Jury
S99 Steve Schwarz
Q99 Mark O’Brien