by | Aug 23, 2020 | SSA Junior Sedans, WA

Current SSA National Junior Sedan Champion Mitchell Baker has led the twenty lap A Main for the 2020 KCLD Cleaning Tom Green Memorial Gold Cup from start to finish today at Ellenbrook Speedway.

Baker withstood the advances of Beau Oldfield and Brandon Buszan throughout the race to continue his strong from since the sport resumed in Western Australia early last month.

Twenty two SSA Top Star Junior Sedans were on hand for one of the biggest annual events in the West for the class with a bumper crowd and perfect weather conditions greeted by competitors.

Narrogin’s Brody Day unfortunately rolled his Hyundai Excel early in the days proceedings putting an end to his chances.

Brody Day Came To Grief Early In the Day

The six qualifying heats were a great spectacle with Beau Oldfield and Mitchell Baker qualifying on the front row for the final.

Baker got the jump on Oldfield at the start of the main event with Brandon Buszan joining in the battle for the lead.

The first stoppage occurred on lap seven when Amber Shore came to a stop with Baker clearing away from the field after the resumption.

Some great battles were occurring right through the pack as the SSA Junior Sedans put on a great display of Speedway Sedan racing.

Buszan momentarily found a way past Oldfield for second place as Elysha Cooper had worked her way from the tenth starting position into fourth place by lap twelve.

Riley Hanson brought on the yellow lights with six laps remaining after suffering a flat left front tyre which saw the field bunch back up for the race to the finish.

Baker pulled away from the field as Oldfield began to get the better of his battle with Buszan for the runner up position as he tried to reel in the leader as the laps wound down.

The National Champion wouldn’t be beaten and lead home Oldfield, Buszan, Jhy Pack and Elysha Cooper with Lexi Smith coming from position fourteen to finish in sixth place.

Official Result

SSA Top Star Junior Sedans A Main- Twenty Laps: 1. A1 Mitchell Baker, 2. W84 Beau Oldfield, 3. W198 Brandon Buszan, 4. W98 Jhy Pack, 5. W13 Elysha Cooper, 6. W133 Lexi Smith, 7. W86 Seth Hinsey, 8. W15 Matthew Thomson, 9. W22 Dean Schofield, 10. W121 Taj Vanzetti, 11. W26 Rory Elsum-Beaumont, 12. W119 Joshua Ahearn, 13. W4 Emma Ahearn, 14. W71 Olivia Earle, 15. W34 Amber Shore, 16. W44 Jaidyn Turner, 17. W40 Vince Lindsay. DNF: W29 Deagan McNally (14), W66 Possum Lawrence (14), W87 Riley Hanson (14). DNS: W8 Brody Day, W75 Tylah Steele. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 1.106. Fastest Lap: 22.804 A1 Mitchell Baker.

Photos by Peter Roebuck