by | Sep 24, 2022 | SSA Street Stocks, WA

Images by Peter Roebuck, Press Release Courtesy of Melvin Media Solutions

Highest point scorer Jace Kempton may not have had the luxury of starting on the front row in today’s East Pilbara Tyre Services Brian Rose Memorial Preliminary A-Main at Ellenbrook Speedway.

However, he still brought the house down as he won a race of the ages between three of the young guns of Street Stock racing.

Courtesy of the U-Pick-Them format where the top-10 drivers drew each other’s starting position, Kempton’s eighth starting spot would not slow him down on his quest for the win—outshining Ben Norman and Damon Lyall.

Norman and Lyall worked smartly from the second row, out duelling Ken MacPherson and Shay Roberts, but the initial start only lasted to the back straight, where Roberts spun in front of the field, luckily not to be collected.

Norman and Lyall again rolled away within, with the remaining 20 laps something only dreams were made of for Speedway Sedan fans.

Lyall and Norman ran side by side for most of the race, with the gap never getting bigger than half a second, while Kempton smartly picked off the field to get to the leaders at the midway point.

Once Kempton was in play, all three hit the lead of the race at one point for the next ten laps, giving the healthy crowd at least some excitement not seen in the AFL on Grand Final day.

Meanwhile, further back in the field, Jamie Oldfield, who started ninth and Hayden Norman, who wasn’t even in the top-10, found the top side to their liking with Oldfield following in Norman’s tyre tracks.

With two laps to go, Kempton finally found a gap on the two BA Falcons to clear his way to lead and from there was never headed.

After the restart, the race went the full 20-laps without fail, with all but one driver who took the green flag finishing the race.

Action from Ellenbrook Speedway is set to start at 11 am tomorrow with another three rounds of racing until the 50-lap main event.

Official Result

Preliminary A Main, 20 Laps- 1. W55 Jace Kempton, 2. W66 Ben Norman, 3. WA1 Damon Lyall, 4. W6 Hayden Norman, 5. W0 Jamie Oldfield, 6. W14 Ken Macpherson, 7. W31 Cody Avins, 8. W129 Jake Hoath, 9. W74 LennyBates, 10. W69 Paul Joss, 11. W626 Jamie Goodwin, 12. W195 Lachlan Dellar, 13. W81 Peter Walker,14. W124 Jake Williams, 15. W44 Peter Herbert, 16. W52 Shay Roberts. DNF: W100 Linton Dickerson(1). DNS: W109 Brenden Vanzetti. Total Time: 7.51.035. Winning Margin: 1.387. Fastest Lap: 22.860W66 Ben Norman.

Brian Rose Memorial/RDA 100 Pointscore After Day One

1. W55 Jace Kempton 92

2. W57 Mick Hamon 82

3. WA1 Damon Lyall 77

4. W74 Lenny Bates 76

5. W0 Jamie Oldfield 73

6. W195 Lachlan Dellar 68

7. W66 Ben Norman 67

8. W14 Ken Macpherson 64

9. W31 Cody Avins 59

10. W52 Shay Roberts 57

11. W69 Paul Joss 55

12. W6 Hayden Norman 53

13. W124 Jake Williams 49

14. W25 Bradley Roberts 46

15. W35 Craig Clayton 46

16. W626 Jamie Goodwin 46

17. W129 Jake Hoath 45

18. W44 Peter Herbert 44

19. W81 Peter Walker 43

20. W10 Damon Thomson 42

21. W121 Paul Briggs 40

22. W100 Linton Dickerson 39

23. W88 Peter Dowie 37

24. W109 Brenden Vanzetti 36

25. W5 Kevin Wyatt 34

26. W4 Matt Hammond 33

27. W2 Marty Kelly 33

28. W56 Ethan Cooper 33

29. W68 Justin Hurst 32

30. W7 Jason Oldfield 31

31. W17 Aaron Sutton 31

32. W85 Warren Oldfield 30

33. W110 Clayton Blee 25

34. W11 Matthew Iwanow 22

35. W83 Stefani Ameduri 19

36. W12 Ryan Penfold 18

37. W84 Brooke Oldfield 18

38. W79 Josh Stewart 15

39. W24 James Lawton 15

40. W70 Scott Hunter 15

41. W9 Kayne Dellar 14

42. W23 Matt Lowe 14

43. W16 Brinley McGaffin 14

44. W51 Justin Melhuish 11

45. W19 Stevie O’Dowd 10

46. W65 Christian Williams 10

47. W91 Fabian Lammonby 10

48. W29 Calib Macarthur 9

49. W20 Clinton Waldron 8

50. W49 Travis Castagna 8

51. W87 Bradley Brennan 7

52. W18 Bodie Sims 7

53. W77 Daniel Sutton 5

54. W183 Daniel Ameduri 3