by | Mar 2, 2024 | SSA Super Sedans

Official Release Saturday 2nd March 2024

Four Time National Super Sedan Champion Darren Kane leads the point standings after night one of the 2024 SSA National Super Sedan Title presented by The City of Albany which is being conducted at the Attwell Park Speedway in Western Australia this weekend.

Kane was the only driver to go through the opening night undefeated in his Ian Boettcher Race Parts Q36 Dominator.

Western Australian Champion Dustin Higgs aboard the Marri Park Tavern Sweet had a productive evening to end proceedings second overall with one hundred points with South Australia’s Dave Gartner rounding out the top three with ninety two points.

Twenty Eight Super Sedans took part in night one with Western Australian Damon Trouchet a scratching after official practice on Friday Night.

Matthew McMahon from Kununurra in the far North of Western Australia collected the best presented car award for the 2024 SSA National Super Sedan Title before the opening night of competition got underway.

The opening heat race of the night saw Darren Kane began his quest for a record fifth National Title in the best possible fashion by moving from position five to take the win at the end of the ten laps from Dave Gartner who came from the fifth row to finish second ahead of Victorian Ash Bergmeier.

Broome’s Phil Barton dominated heat two in his MG Tyres backed entry from Dustin Higgs who recorded the fastest time of the night with a 15.868 to finish second from Queensland’s Zac Pascoe third.

Four Time National Champion Matt Pascoe lead all the way in heat three after starting from the third row in the N1 Sweet Chassis as current National Champion Trent Wilson held off local Rob Knox for the runner up spot.

The second round got underway with the first incident of the night as Phil Barton spun on lap two of heat four as went around in front of Dustin Higgs with Barton unable to continue due to a flat left rear tyre.

Higgs would lead the last eight laps of the heat race to take maximum points from dual state champion Brad Pascoe and three time National Champion Mick Nicola.

Darren Kane lead all ten laps in heat five as he took the win by over ten seconds from Mount Barker’s Nathan Thiele and Zac Pascoe.

Heat Six would get underway with Lukas Lampert spinning the W17 Insane leaving Bryce Fisher with nowhere to go.

Fisher would retire from the race with front end damage as eight time state super sedan champion Dave Gartner took the win from Matt Pascoe and Tristan Green after Rob Know headed infield with suspension issues after running inside the top three.

The third and final round of night one saw Rob Knox lead the early laps in his Mount Barker Roadhouse Dominator before retiring for the second time in the night with a broken suspension component.

Knox’s bad luck was Darren Kane’s good fortune as he inherited the lead and then the thirty six points defeating Zac Pascoe and Ash Bergmeier by just over two seconds.

Kane’s win meant he was undefeated on night one and alone at the top with one hundred and eight points.

Heat Eight was the domain of Dustin Higgs after a number of attempts at a start as he took his second win of the night from Dave Gartner and Matty Pascoe.

A messy start to the beginning of the final heat race of the program saw cars heading all different directions during the opening laps with all competitors doing a great job not to bring on the caution lights.

Victorian Mick Nicola moved through the field nicely to take his first heat win of the 2024 National Title as Trent Wilson and Bryce Fisher rounded out the top three.

Each competitor will have one more heat race on night two before the B Main and forty lap main event is contested to decide the 2024 SSA National Super Sedan Champion.

Watch every lap live on Clay Per View.


1. Q36 Darren Kane 108

2. W1 Dustin Higgs 100

3. S18 Dave Gartner 92

4. N1 Matty Pascoe 87

5. Q6 Zac Pascoe 74

6. V3 Mick Nicola 69

7. A1 Trent Wilson 66

8. Q1 Brad Pascoe 62

9. V16 Ash Bergmeier 59

10. W36 Phil Barton 58

11. W25 Nathan Thiele 51

12. W6 Tristan Green 49

13. W81 Gary Higgs 44

14. WA85 Keith Higgs 43

15. W42 Glynn McBeath 40

16. W23 Ryan Huxtable 38

17. W80 Bryce Fisher 36

18. W68 Rob Knox 34

19. W85 Mathew McMahon 29

20. W9 Kemble Aylett 27

21. W96 Stephen Larson 26

22. Q98 Michael Hally 24

23. W10 Kyle Larson 23

24. W17 Lukas Lampert 23

25. W76 Terry Green 19

26. W91 Darren Larson 17

27. W2 Ian Wright 16

28. W92 Warren Hambley 4