by | May 22, 2022 | SA, SSA Modified Sedans

Image by DTP Quick Snaps

Mildura’s Martin Hawson has become the new South Australian Modified Sedan champion with a stirring victory at the Sunline Speedway near Waikerie last night.

Seventeen years after winning the event for the first time at Bordertown, Hawson lead all thirty laps to defeat fellow Victorians Andrew Dike & Wade McCarthy.

Angelo Halacas would be out on the opening lap with Matt Nelson in the AV61 Ford Falcon heading infield on lap five.

Hawson soon set about setting up a big margin over the rest of the field as he worked his way through the lap traffic in his Little’s Competition Services Holden Commodore.

Just five cars finished on the lead lap as the race went green to chequer without a stoppage.

For Hawson it was his seventh podium finish in the South Australian Modified Sedan State Title in what has been a remarkable tale of longevity in the class.

Official Result

A Main, 30 Laps- 1. MDA72 Martin Hawson, 2. V51 Andrew Dike, 3. MDA6 Wade McCarthy, 4. W00 Ty Galley, 5. MDA19 David Smith, 6. N87 Aaron Bunton (29), 7. S69 Bronte Perkins (29), 8. S93 David Hartman (29), 9. S31 Tony Hardy (28), 10. S89 Justin Demaine (28), 11. S0 Trevor Raams (28), 12. S65 Mark Janssen (26), DNF S94 Robert Uren (27), AX61 Matt Nelson (5), MDA86 Angelo Halacas (0).