by | Jan 18, 2024 | SSA Super Sedans, WA

Press Release Courtesy of Super Sedans Tasmania

Thirty five drivers are set to take on the second portion of the 2024 Tassie Tiger Super Sedan Trail the Gulf Western & Independent Oils Grand Prix at Gulf Western & Independent Oils Raceway in Latrobe.

Five states will be represented, and six former winners will be in the field, chasing the $12,500 winners prize, as well as victory in round four of the NSSS National Super Sedan Series.

Callum Harper leads the way with four Grand Prix victories, and will be hoping to bounce back with Grand Prix victory number five, after a disappointing DNF in the Tasmanian Title.

New South Wales Champion Matty Pascoe has three Grand Prix victories to his name and will be hoping to go one better this weekend, after a runner up finish at the Tasmanian Title.

New Tasmanian Champion Brad Pascoe will be gunning for his first Grand Prix victory, and looking to continue his good form after claiming his maiden Tasmanian Title last weekend.

Defending Grand Prix winner Sean Black rolled his Sweet Chassis on the opening night at Carrick, but is putting in the hard yards this week to repair the car, to be able to try and defend his crown come Saturday night.

David Nichols is a two time Grand Prix winner, and after crossing the line third in the Tasmanian Title on Saturday night Nichols will be aiming to go two better and keep the prize money in Tasmania.

Darren Kane returns to Tasmania for the first time since 2019. The Grand Prix is one event that has alluded Kane in his illustrious career, and he will look to win his first Grand Prix on Saturday night.

Steve Latham had a trying time of it on the opening night of the Tasmanian Title, before bouncing back for the seventh place finish.

Latham will be hoping for a clean run through the heats to give himself the best chance come feature time on Saturday night.

Victorians Mick Nicola Jnr and Jamie Collins both showed great pace in patches at the Tasmanian Title, and will be hoping to put it all together for their maiden Grand Prix win come Saturday night.

Racing will kick off on Friday night at 630pm. Each driver will compete in three heat races each that will set the fields for split field preliminary feature races.

Racing will get underway on Saturday night at 6pm. Each driver will compete in a further two rounds of heat races, with the top eighteen in the points standings locking straight into the pole shuffle.

The remaining six starters will transfer to the fifty lap main event via the B Main.

This event will not be live streamed, be sure to get yourself to Latrobe for two awesome nights of action.

Gulf Western & Independent Oils Grand Prix

Nominations (35)

N1 Matty Pascoe

Q1/T1 Brad Pascoe

V1 Jamie Collins

T3 David Nichols

V3 Mick Nicola Snr

T4 Marcus Alexander

W4 Lee Aylett

Q6 Zac Pascoe

T7 Nathan Howells

T8 Steve Latham

T9 Gil Aylett

W9 Kemble Aylett

Q10 Steve Jordan

T10 Andrew Poke

Q11 Rob Hamilton

T12 Luke Gunn

T14 Adam Beechey

T16 Dennis Davidson

T18 Dwaine Sonners

T22 Callum Harper

V23 Mick Nicola Jnr

T25 Joe Breitkopf

Q26 Sean Black

T26 Peter Johnston

Q36 Darren Kane

T47 Lucas Dillon

T48 Wayne Dillon

T49 Aaron Dillon

T60 Josh Tinning

T61 Laura Davidson

T73 Grant Hopkins

T75 Brendan Flynn

T88 Paul Howard

S93 Kym Jury

Q98 Michael Hally