by | Mar 1, 2024 | SSA Super Sedans, WA

Official Release Friday 1st March 2024.

South Australia’s Dave Gartner has tonight gone fastest in Official Practice at the Albany Speedway ahead of this weekend’s The City of Albany 2024 SSA National Super Sedan Title.

The three-time runner up in the National Title (including the last time it was held at the Albany Speedway) took full advantage of being out on the track early when it was at its fastest, recording a 16.280 second circulation in the third session.

Second fastest was WA Champion Dustin Higgs, with a 16.411 in the fourth session of the evening while NSW and Victorian Champion Matty Pascoe was third overall with a 16.585 in the very first session.

Three-time WA Champion Gary Higgs was fourth fastest with a 16.792 while defending Australian Champion Trent Wilson, cutting his first ever laps at the Albany venue, was fifth fastest overall with a 16.948.

The top seven drivers were the only ones able to dip into the sixteen second bracket while the top nineteen were all in the seventeen second range.

Twenty six of the twenty nine drivers practiced, with Warren Hambley, Nathan Thiele and Lukas Lampert the only ones not electing to practice, while the three main issues were Queenslander Michael Hally hitting the turn three wall early on and missing most of practice before being able to hit the track again, Zac Pascoe clouting the wall in the same spot to end his night early and Damon Trouchet who has officially withdrawn from the title after hurting an engine despite being sixth fastest overall.

Action kicks off tomorrow night from 5.30pm with the Grand Parade, while racing will kick off from 6pm with three rounds of heats for the Super Sedans, while Modified Sedans and Junior Sedans are also on track.

Image by DTP Quick Snaps.

Overall Fast Times

1. S18 Dave Gartner 16.280

2. W1 Dustin Higgs 16.411

3. N1 Matty Pascoe 16.585

4. W81 Gary Higgs 16.792

5. A1 Trent Wilson 16.948

6. W3 Damon Trouchet 16.988

7. W68 Rob Knox 16.989

8. WA85 Keith Higgs 17.026

9. W80 Bryce Fisher 17.029

10. Q1 Brad Pascoe 17.048

11. Q36 Darren Kane 17.054

12. V3 Mick Nicola Snr 17.235

13. W85 Matthew McMahon 17.354

14. W42 Glynn McBeath 17.360

15. V16 Ash Bergmeier 17.519

16. W6 Tristan Green 17.525

17. W36 Phil Barton 17.549

18. Q6 Zac Pascoe 17.580

19. Q98 Michael Hally 17.968

20. W76 Terry Green 18.145

21. W23 Ryan Huxtable 18.221

22. W9 Kemble Aylett 18.252

23. W2 Ian Wright 19.078

24. W10 Kyle Larson 19.191

25. W96 Stephen Larson 19.419

26. W91 Darren Larson 19.996