by | Feb 5, 2023 | SSA Super Sedans, VIC

Official Release- Saturday 4th February 2023.

Just three weeks after winning his maiden State Super Sedan Title, Jamie Collins is a dual state champion after claiming last nights Victorian Super Sedan Title at Sonic Speedway in Swan Hill.

Collins was one of only three drivers to claim three podium finishes in the qualifying heats to crucially secure pole position for the thirty five lap main event, on a track that was very difficult to pass on.

After a couple of cracks at the start Collins would get the initial jump and take the lead from Lucas Roberts, Tyson Moon, Dave Mackenzie, and David Nichols.

The opening caution of the race was out after a couple of laps for a spinning Corey Ramsdale.

From the resultant restart the field would concertina seeing Michael Hally run over the rear of Sean Black, and suffering contact from behind which would end his race.

Nichols made the first move after the restart, taking fourth position from Mackenzie into turn one.

Steve Jordan having started from eighth had fought his way through to fifth inside ten laps.

Sean Black had also made good progress having started from tenth to be in sixth after ten laps.

Collins had a good advantage out front, but Roberts was beginning to reel Collins in as they approached lap traffic.

Jordan would take fourth from Nichols, and make a bid for third into turn one. Jordan would make contact with Moon, unsettling his car who began to spin. Nichols arriving on the scene made further contact with Moon, puncturing Moon’s left rear tyre which would end his race.

Collins would hold off the challengers in a six car freight train to claim his second state championship in a couple of weeks.

Roberts would cross the line second just narrowly clear of Jordan in third. Nichols would take fourth, from Black in fifth.

Victorian Super Sedan Title
1. V34 Jamie Collins, 2. V0 Lucas Roberts, 3. Q10 Steve Jordan, 4. T3 David Nichols, 5. Q26 Sean Black, 6. V16 Ash Bergmeier, 7. V12 Darren Giacometti, 8. V24 Dave Mackenzie, 9. V41 Ben Faulkhead, 10. V99 Travis Ramsdale, 11. V9 Corey Ramsdale, 12. V42 Ricky Ashmore, DNF N47 Tyson Moon, V19 Danny Smith, V3 Mick Nicola Snr, S22 Paul Blenkiron, S18 Dave Gartner, V71 Lionel West, Q98 Michael Hally, DNS V1 Mick Nicola Jnr.