by | Nov 14, 2021 | SSA Modified Sedans, WA

Press Release by WA Modified Sedans

Modified Sedan rookie, Lee Watt has claimed the second round of the 2021/2022 KCM Transport WA Modified Sedan Series at Makit Hardware Narrogin Speedway last night, defeating Albany’s Jason Batchelor and Michael Clark in the twenty lap final. 

The event was proudly supported by Grant and Julie Stevens of Stevens Ceilings and saw Lee Watt claim the opening heat of the night, before Kyle Sayer would add his name to the heat race winners list in his first WA Modified Sedan Series appearance. 

Continuing the trend of rookie winners, Gaje Price would take out the third heat of the night, before Kyle Sayer made it two wins from two starts to the claim the fourth heat. Michael Clark and West Australian Modified Sedan champion Jayke Malcolm would add their names to the heat race winners list, claiming the final two heats of the night. 

When it came to the Southern Stump and Mulching Services Shootout, there would only be five cars in appearance, as Kyle Sayer suffered mechanical dramas ending his night after winning his two opening heats. Jayke Malcolm would defeat Gaje Price in the opening instalment of the shootout, before he would prove too strong for Michael Clark. 

Jason Batchelor then joined the track and would make the best of an inside start to progress, leaving Jayke Malcolm to start the final from position three. Batchelor would then be joined by Lee Watt, who made a very quick start and wouldn’t be headed from this point, earning himself pole position for the final and a nice cash bonus courtesy of Southern Stump and Mulching Services. 

With thirteen cars to face the green flag in the twenty lap final, it was Lee Watt who would make the best of the jump to lead the opening lap with Jason Batchelor hot on his heels. Jayke Malcolm would continue to hold third position as further back in the field, Bunbury’s Adam Houston would lose a number of positions before retiring from the event. 

Michael Clark soon started to challenge Malcolm for the final step on the podium, before Malcolm would join Houston on the infield to watch the remainder of the event. This left Coby Stevens in fourth ahead of Mick Johnson, Gaje Price and Brendan Selleck who had his elbows up trying to progress up the field. 

As the leaders came upon lapped traffic in Brett Mills, Jason Batchelor continued to apply the pressure to Lee Watt’s immaculate Holden Commodore before the yellow lights came on. 

With only a handful of laps remaining, Lee Watt opened up a couple of car length margin between himself and Jason Batchelor, which would be enough to see him claim his first KCM Transport WA Modified Sedan Series round, defeating a gallant Jason Batchelor and Michael Clark. 

Coby Stevens would hold off a fast finishing Brendan Selleck for fourth and fifth, before Gaje Price, Branden Fraser, Shane Dubberlin and Brett Mills who rounded up the finishers. Selleck would be relegated two positions at the end of the event for a rule infraction during the race. 

Earlier in the night, Gaje Price, Coby Stevens and Kyle Sayer elected to play their Joker card, which doubled their points for the night. Stay tuned for an update in series points to see how the Joker card has already impacted the overall standings. 

The West Australian Modified Drivers Association would again like to extend their thank you to Grant and Julie Stevens for their continued support of Modified Sedan racing in Western Australia and thank Narrogin Speedway Club for holding this round of the KCM Transport WA Modified Sedan Series. 

The 2021/2022 KCM Transport WA Modified Sedan Series will return in a fortnight’s time, when the third round of the series heads to Geraldton City Speedway in WA’s Midwest, with the support of Rick Musarra from RPM Race Products. 

Official Result
A Main Twenty Laps: 1. 4 Lee Watt, 2. 46 Jason Batchelor, 3. 28 Michael Clark, 4. Coby Stevens, 5. 115 Gaje Price, 6. 2 Branden Fraser, 7. 3 Brendan Selleck, 8. 13 Shane Dubberlin, 9. 22 Brett Mills DNF: 17 Merv Penn (11), 32 Mick Johnson (11) WA1 Jayke Malcolm (5), 18 Adam Houston (2), DNS: 95 Kyle Sayer, 51 Anthony King, 15 Luke Fraser.

The 2021/2022 KCM Transport WA Modified Sedan Series is proudly supported by:
KCM Transport
Moora Nissan
Stevens Ceilings
RPM Race Products
Civil Hirings
Blackman Fabrication
Kachana Beef
Totally Independent Tyre Service and Mechanical
Southern Stump and Mulching Services
Speedway Sedans Australia Turn 2 Funding Program
Speedway Sedans Western Australia
LF Graphix