by | Apr 20, 2023 | SSA Junior Sedans, WA

Press Release courtesy of Speedway Sedans Western Australia.

Tomorrow morning it all begins, as the Allwest Plant Hire Ellenbrook Speedway hosts the 36th running of the SSA Junior Sedan WA Title, as sanctioned by the SSWA.

The first sanctioned title was actually run at the very same venue, Ellenbrook Speedway hosting the event back in the 1987/88 season, which was won by Fred Perry over Russell Walton and Stephan Cooper.

Prior to that, the event was run for a number of years, some of the research showing that it may have run back as early as the 1974/75 season, with tracks around the state such as Bunbury, Narrogin and Ellenbrook running their own versions of the event, as well as four times at the famed Claremont showgrounds.

Research continues to fill in the gaps in the WA Junior Sedan Title history, so please contact us at sswasecretary@hotmail.com if you have anything that may help with this!

Since those early years, the WA Junior Title honour roll has gone on to read as a who’s who of WA Speedway identities.

Names such as Kingsley Jones, Mick Hamon, Jason Pearce, Matt Noakes, Veronica McCann, Todd Waddell, Carl Dowling, Drew Ogle, Brock Atkins, Todd Atkins and Blake Iwanow to name just a few of the winners have gone on to have successful careers in other disciplines of racing, many still involved today.

Of course, not winning the Title doesn’t mean ones racing career is over after Juniors, with others like Beau Riley, Daniel Ameduri, Jamie Oldfield, David Nylander, Barry Rose, Matthew Iwanow and Jayke Malcolm just some of the place getters who have gone on to achieve big things in our sport.

Fast forward to this year’s running of the event and it is sure to be another huge one, with the results guaranteed to not feature just a brand-new winner, but also a whole new podium come Sunday afternoon.

Last year’s winner Beau Oldfield (who also came second the two years previous), second placed Chris Dickerson and third placed Kayne Dellar have all moved on to Senior divisions now, opening the door for the next generation of Junior competitors to come through and grab their chance at glory.

Headlining this weekend’s sixty-two strong field would be Northern Territory champion Donny Davis, who is travelling all the way from Newman for this event, Australia #3 Zach Munro and Australia #7 Hunter Downs.

All three drivers have been quick at every track they have competed at, all three making the National Title A Main at Borderline Speedway in Mount Gambier (as well as Zak Turner, who is also in this weekend’s field!) and representing WA with pride, something they will now aim to do as WA1.

Davis in particular will be fighting hard, representing Hillview Speedway Club in Newman, who have recently been announced as holding the 2024 SSA Junior Sedan WA Title.

Of course, there is another sixty or so competitors in the field also looking to take home the win, with drivers travelling from Karratha, Port Hedland and Broome, through to Geraldton, Kalgoorlie and Shark Bay, right down to Albany, Esperance and Margaret River, and everywhere in between!

This means that an amazing twenty two tracks and clubs are being represented this weekend, a truly remarkable effort.

Other names in the field expected to do well include Mitch Binning, Jett Downs, Jesse James Samuels, Tyde Lovell, Kai Leeson and Jaxon Buszan just to name a few.

Excitingly, of the sixty two entries, we have a 14/48 female/male split, with the fourteen lady racers looking to emulate the efforts of previous WA Champions Veronica McCann and Bronwyn Channing.

A number of the Junior drivers have also prepared their cars with updated paint schemes, looking to represent themselves, their sponsors and the division as a whole in the best possible light.

Regardless of who wins, a huge thankyou to all the drivers and of course their support teams who have travelled to Ellenbrook this weekend to be part of the Title and we wish you all the very best of luck!

Official Nominations – 62

W2 Max Lang

W3 Donny Davis

WA3 Summer Shore

W4 Emma Ahearn

W5 Jesse Hamon

W7 Hayley Strelley

W08 Tyler Scott

W9 Levi Whittington

WA9 Brock Barrett

W10 Mitch Binning

WA10 Kayde Anthony

W011 Charlie Scott

W11 Brock Lake

W12 Mikayla Steele

WA12 Jake Fisher

W15 Luke Bailey

W16 Taia Giles

W17 Levi Crowe

WA17 Seth Robinson

WX17 Travis Strelley

W18 Reuben Walsh

WA18 Harrison Beres

W19 Katie Beadle

W20 Wyatt Van Der Mey

W22 Zak Turner

W23 Wade Rhodes

W24 Chloe Lawton

WA24 George Tate

W25 Hunter Downs

W26 Zakiya Costa

W27 Malik Gordon

W29 Thomas Host

W31 Jesse James Samuels

W34 Baxter Trouchet

W40 Vince Lindsay

W42 Tyde Lovell

W52 Joel Bowman

W55 Mia Dunne

W61 Syarra Parry

W62 Addison Walsh

W70 Jake Leaman

W71 Chayse Jackson

W74 Locky Comley

W78 Colby Bosley

W81 Oscar Amato

W82 Sophie Amato

WA82 Mason Whitehead

W83 Kai Leeson

W87 Brock Pearce

W88 Mackenzie Silver

WA88 Jacob Hill

WX88 Mitchell Delaporte

W89 Jett Downs

W94 Ryder Nedelkovski

W101 Andre Clarke

WA101 Dylan Rees

W138 Zach Munro

W144 Luke Martin

W199 Jaxon Buszan

W222 Kaden Harrison

W606 Jackson Goodwin

W666 Sophie Goodwin