by | Aug 23, 2021 | SSA Junior Sedans, WA

Images by Peter Roebuck

Second generation Speedway Sedan driver Baxter Trouchet has claimed victory in the 2021 Cranecorp Australia Tom Green Memorial Gold Cup for SSA New Star Junior Sedans yesterday afternoon at the Allwest Plant Hire Ellenbrook Speedway.

Trouchet crossed the line just over five seconds ahead of Ryan Mellor and Shataya Herbert who endured a great battle for the minor placings in the concluding stages.

Seventeen New Star competitors complimented a fantastic line up of Top Star Junior Sedans as the future of the sport played centre stage before a bumper Sunday afternoon crowd at the venue located in the Northern outskirts of Perth.

Jesse James Samuels aboard the RVS Holdings Hyundai Excel battled early with Trouchet before falling back into the clutches of Ryan Mellor, Jayden Heelan, Shataya Herbert, Jesse Hamon & Deegan Meelor.

Heelan & Samuels

Hamon unfortunately came to grief in turn four with five laps remaining when his HTEC Bunbury Mitsubishi Lancer had a gentle rollover ending his race while in a strong position.

Trouchet pulled clear of the rest of the field after the restart to claim the biggest win of his short Speedway career with Baxter’s Dad Damon Trouchet a personal friend of the late Tom Green.

Ryan Mellor, Herbert, the recovering Samuels and Jayden Heelan rounded out the top five with all of the New Star drivers putting on some outstanding racing throughout the day’s proceedings.

The SSA Junior Sedans will return to the Allwest Plant Hire Ellenbrook Speedway on Sunday 5th September 2021.

Official Result of the 2021 Cranecorp Australia Tom Green Memorial Gold Cup for SSA New Star Junior Sedans

.A Main, 20 Laps- 1. W34 Baxter Trouchet, 2. W48 Ryan Mellor, 3. W44 Shataya Herbert, 4. W31 Jesse James Samuels, 5. W21 Jayden Heelan, 6. W101 Andre Clarke, 7. W4 Deegan Mellor, 8. W17 Levi Crowe, 9. W56 Noah Bain, 10. W14 Alyssa Whittington (19), 11. W23 Wade Rhodes (19), 12. W24 Chloe Lawton (19), 13. W88 Hudson Gallegos (15). DNF: W5 Jesse Hamon (15), W173 Kaden Harrison (12), W9 Levi Whittington (0). DNS: W88M Mackenzie Silver. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 5.094. Fastest Lap: 23.527 W34 Baxter Trouchet