by | Jan 16, 2021 | SSA Super Sedans, TAS

Press Release by Super Sedans Tasmania, Image by Angryman Photography

The top four drivers are separated by just five points after the first night of the 46th annual Super Sedan Grand Prix.

Nine heats and two 15 lap prelim A Mains were contested on night one.

Tasmanian Champion David Nichols took out the opening heat of the night.

Callum Harper was victorious in heat two, lowering his own lap record in the process!

Dwaine Sonners took the win in Heat three rounding out an all Tasmanian round of winners.

Callum Harper won his second heat of the night in heat four, again lowering the lap record!

Lachlan Onley marked his return to Super Sedan action with a win in Heat five, and Dwaine Sonners continued his impressive run with another win in Heat six.

Callum Harper went three for three by taking out heat seven, cementing himself as the top qualifier after three rounds of heats.

In Heat 8 Matty Pascoe took the win in a small field. Mick Nicola Jnr took out the final heat of the night, and put himself on the front row of the evens prelim.

Dwaine Sonners qualified pole for the evens prelim, with Mick Nicola Jnr on the outside.

Nicola Jnr won the start and would lead from start to finish, despite intense pressure from Matty Pascoe, Laura Davidson rounded out the podium with an impressive run after starting from 6th.

There was high drama at the start of the odds prelim, with top qualifier Callum Harper heading infield, before he could greet the green flag.

This would elevate Adam Beechey to pole, with David Nichols on his outside.

Beechey won the start, and held a two car length lead over Nichols for the duration of the 15 lap journey. Mick Nicola Snr came through from 5th to round out the podium in 3rd.

Night two will see two more rounds of heats, the traditional pole shuffle, and the 50 lap A-Main.

Point Score After Night One of the 46th Annual Super Sedan Grand Prix

1. V23 Mick Nicola Jnr – 110
2. T14 Adam Beechey – 109
3. T22 Callum Harper – 108
4. T3 David Nichols – 105
5. N47 Matty Pascoe – 94
6. T18 Dwaine Sonners – 90
7. V3 Mick Nicola Snr – 84
8. T61 Laura Davidson – 82
9. V34 Jamie Collins – 77
10. N57 Daryl Moon – 77
11. T8 Steve Latham – 75
12. S93 Kym Jury – 74
13. T48 Wayne Dillon – 65
14. N17 Lachlan Onley – 59
15. T71 Robbie Bird – 55
16. T4 Marcus Alexander – 53
17. T19 Brett Dawkins – 50
18. T10 Andrew Poke – 42
19. T29 Tim Johnson – 31
20. T75 Brendan Flynn – 18
21. T7 Nathan Howells – 8