by | Jan 8, 2023 | SSA Junior Sedans, SSA Production Sedans, SSA Street Stocks, WA

Press Release by Southern Sedan Showdown

May of not had the biggest field for the year, but the final round of the Southern Sedan Showdown still brought out an exciting night of racing in Albany.

The Junior Sedans continued their three way battle for victory with Baxter Trouchet, Jake Leaman and Jake Fisher again going at it for the feature victory.

Leaman tried several times to get under Trouchet for the win but couldn’t make the move stick with Fisher again following the pair to finish third.

Kyle Sayer saw his domination of the last three rounds of the Southern Sedan Showdown continue, despite not finishing a heat race he still started on the outside front row and was untouched, winning from Michael Clark and an impressive Wayne Leviston.

Pole sitter Calon Ball had a feature he would rather forget, finishing the night on the infield with damage to his brand new Holden.

Street Stocks saw Michael Hamon after clinching the series head back home to be with his newborn son, meaning finally a new winner this season.

Manjimup’s David Fall, another driver who missed out on the opening round capitalised on the Hamon-less field winning comfortably in the feature and clinched second place in the standings.

Winning from Jake Williams and Cody Avins.

A full series rundown will be posted later tonight.


Top Star Junior Sedans Feature, 12 Laps GRID: 1. W34 Baxter Trouchet, 2. W12 Jake Fisher, 3. W70 Jake Leaman, 4. W87 Brock Pearce, 5. W18 Harrison Beres, 6. W25 Alyvia Ferraro, 7. W61 Syarra Parry

RESULT1. W34 Baxter Trouchet, 2. W70 Jake Leaman, 3. W12 Jake Fisher, 4. W18 Harrison Beres, 5. W61 Syarra Parry, 6. W87 Brock Pearce, DNF: W25 Alyvia Ferraro, Time: 4:28.763, Winning Margin: 1.850, Fastest Lap: 21.472 W18 Harrison Beres.

Production Sedans Feature, 15 Laps GRID: 1. W8 Calon Ball, 2. W1 Kyle Sayer, 3. W28 Michael Clark, 4. W92 Shane Devonshire, 5. W52 Paul Bowman, 6. W12 Aydan Trewern, 7. W11 Jake Avins, 8. W86 Wayne Leviston, 9. W13 Rowan Burrell, 10. W61 Jake Blight, 11. W27 Mike Kinnear, 12. W211 Rowan Drysdale, 13. W5 Ben Pratt, 14. W34 Paul Spinks.

RESULT1. W1 Kyle Sayer, 2. W28 Michael Clark, 3. W86 Wayne Leviston, 4. W61 Jake Blight, 5. W211 Rowan Drysdale, 6. W13 Rowan Burrell, 7. W27 Mike Kinnear, DNF: W8 Calon Ball, W92 Shane Devonshire, W11 Jake Avins, W52 Paul Bowman, DNS: W12 Aydan Trewern, W5 Ben Pratt, W34 Paul Spinks, Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.639, Fastest Lap: 20.075 W1 Kyle Sayer.

Street Stocks Feature, 12 Laps GRID: 1. W10 David Fall, 2. W31 Cody Avins, 3. W24 Jake Williams, 4. W20 Clinton Waldron, 5. W51 Justin Melhuish, 6. W69 Tyron Hall, 7. W12 Ryan PenfoldRESULT1. W10 David Fall, 2. W24 Jake Williams, 3. W31 Cody Avins, 4. W69 Tyron Hall, 5. W20 Clinton Waldron, 6. W51 Justin Melhuish, DNF: W12 Ryan Penfold, Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 1.834, Fastest Lap: 20.769 W10 David Fall.