by | Dec 13, 2020 | QLD, SSA Super Sedans

Press Release by the Super Sedan Association, Image by 44 Photography

Sean Black (Sweet 26) has achieved the three peat with a dominant win Saturday night in the Christmas Cup at the Ian Boettcher Race Parts Kingaroy Speedway.

Round five of the McCosker Super Sedan Series was supported by local business Ken Mills Toyota, seventeen cars competed throughout the night.

The field contested six heat races with plenty of passing, heat winners were Darren Kane x 2 (Dominator A1), Craig Hammond (Rocket 2), Trent Wilson (Sweet 44), Sean Black, Zac Pascoe (Dominator 51).

The highest point scorer was Darren Kane, followed by Steve Jordan (Sweet 10), Sam Roza, Sean Black, Trent Wilson, and Gavin Northfield (Dominator 15). The top six then drew for positions with the grids being set as follows – Sam Roza, Sean Black, Darren Kane, Steve Jordan, Gavin Northfield, and Trent Wilson.

All seventeen cars faced the green flag for the 30 lap journey, pole sitter Sam Roza got the best of the starts and led the opening few circuits. The racing was superb as the cars ran two wide through the field however Brendon Kelly (OTR 84) spun on lap 3 for the first caution.

Unfortunately Roza would have a deflating left rear at this point and wound up on the infield. On the Delaware restart Black would be out in front on his own followed by Darren Kane, Steve Jordan, Gavin Northfield, Trent Wilson and Mick Nicola (KO V3).

At the halfway point Black was leading very comfortably from Kane, however the big mover was Matty Pascoe (Rocket 11) who predominantly used the high line to advance to the third position after starting twelfth.

A lap 26 restart for the spun car of Carter Armstrong (OTR 35) compressed the field, Black continued in the lead and said “I just made sure I hit my marks”. Pascoe swept around the outside of Kane on the 28th lap and closed on Black however Sean held a good line and went on the record his third feature win in a row.

Following Kane home were Trent Wilson, Gavin Northfield, Mick Nicola, Steve Jordan, Zac Pascoe (also the winner of the Development Series for the second week in a row), Justin Smithwick and rounding out the top ten was Hayden Brims (Rocket 111).

Sean Black said after the race he was happy for the team and can’t ever recall winning three in a row in the Junior Sedan he raced prior to coming to Super Sedans, and definitely never in this class.

Blacks winning Sweet Chassis is supported by Handford Plumbing Services, Narellan Pools, Linmac Automotive, Burson’s Autoparts, Toowoomba Steering and Supension, L Cleaning Service, DTS, Ash Media, Page Race Engines, Terry Austin Smash Repairs, DePool Shop, Scott’s FRP, GW Racing. Sean Blacks Racing Team pit crew is an all family affair consisting of wife Samantha, mother Leah and sister Tracey-Lee.

Second placed Matty Pascoe drove a Rocket owned by Mick Nicola. The Team is supported by Integrity Warranty, Kempy Race Pipes and Pro Blast.Third placed Darren Kane said “the Kingaroy track was not what they have normally been used to, the heats were pretty good to us.

The feature was a real struggle, we ran second for most of the race then with four to go I tried to run the same line as Sean but Matty got us”. Kane’s Australia 1 Dominator is supported by Ian Boettcher Race Parts, Dominator Race Cars, Motorsport Fuels and DRW Racewear. The crew are Greg Boettcher, Brenton Knight, George Kane, David Knight, and Todd Lloyd.

Race Results

Heat One: Darren Kane A1, Sean Black 26, Hayden Brims 111, Trent Wilson 44, Justin Smithwick 63, Matty Pascoe 11, Michael Hally 98, Carter Armstrong 35. Time 3:45.124. Winning margin 1.025. Fastest lap Sean Black 15.600

Heat Two: Craig Hammond 2, Steve Jordan 10, Sam Roza 77, Gavin Northfield 15, Mick Nicola 3, Zac Pascoe 51, Colin Kaine 7, Mark O’Brien 99, Brendon Kelly 84. Time 7:18.650. Winning margin 0.265. Fastest lap Steve Jordan 16.688

Heat Three: Trent Wilson 44, Steve Jordan 10, Matty Pascoe 11, Colin Kaine 7. Craig Hammond 2, Justin Smithwick 63, Michael Hally 98, Brendon Kelly 84, Mark O’Brien 99. Time 6:01.832. Winning margin 0.547. Fastest lap Trent Wilson 15.926.

Heat Four: Darren KaneA1, Sam Roza 77, Mick Nicola V3, Gavin Northfield 15, Sean Black 26, Zac Pascoe 51, Carter Armstrong 35, Hayden Brims 111. Time 15.17.564. Winning margin 0.015. Fastest lap Darren Kane 16.441.

Heat Five: Sean Black 26, Sam Roza 77, Justin Smithwick 63, Mick Nicola V3, Matty Pascoe 11, Carter Armstrong 35, Hayden Brims 111, Mark O’Brien 99. Time 4:03.145. Winning margin 0.848. Fastest lap Sean Black 16.060.

Heat Six: Zac Pascoe 51, Steve Jordan 10, Gavin Northfield 15, Darren Kane A1, Trent Wilson 44, Michael Hally 98, Colin Kaine 7, Craig Hammond 2, Brendon Kelly 84. Time 2:48.401. Winning margin 0.618. Fastest lap Steve Jordan 16.408.

Feature Race: Sean Black 26, Matty Pascoe 11, Darren Kane A1, Trent Wilson 44, Gavin Northfield 15, Mick Nicola V3, Steve Jordan 10, Zac Pascoe 51, Justin Smithwick 63, Hayden Brims 111, Craig Hammond 2, Michael Hally 98 (29), Carter Armstrong 35 (29), Brendon Kelly 84 (28), Mark O’Brien 99 (18), Colin Kaine 7 (10), Sam Roza 77 (3). Time 15:46.548. Winning margin 1.424. Fastest lap Sean Black 16.577.

McCosker Contracting Super Sedan Series is also proudly supported by:

Ken Mills Toyota

Barnes Drilling

Hervey Bay Tilt Tray Hire

Ian Boettcher Race Parts

Queensland Speedway Spares

Rockhampton Mazda

TMS Sportswear

Ford Wreckers Redcliffe

Lockyer Bins

Kempy Race Pipes

Afco Shock Doctor

Topline Australia