Three In A Row For Perfect Herbert

by | Nov 13, 2017 | Latest News, Results

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Brad Herbert is becoming a force in Modified Sedan ranks, winning his third successive Modified Sedan Feature, when he won in a thrilling finish at the Gulf Western and Independent Oils Raceway on Saturday night.

Herbert and Andy Russell would start on the front row for the twenty lap decider with Luke Williams and Trent Quillerat on row two.

It would not be the best of starts for Luke Williams who slipped back through the field soon after the start, as Andy Russell continued to chase Herbert.

The one and only stoppage occurred on lap three when Jake Taurian spun and was sent to the rear of the field.

Upon the resumption, Brad Herbert would continue to lead, as Russell tried everything to take the lead. Trent Quillerat would have a solid run in third place but slowed in the concluding stages allowing Luke Williams back into third after recovering from the slow start.

With two laps remaining Jake Taurian would also pass Quillerat to move to fourth, as Herbert and Russell continued the great battle for the lead.

Herbert would prevail for the third week in a row winning by half a car length (0.187) from Andy Russell, while Luke Williams was a quarter of the lap behind in third.

It was very close, we came up on two lapped cars in the last lap which made it a tricky finish. I keep taking the wins while I can, said a happy Brad Herbert.

Earlier Herbert would also win both of this qualifying heats, while Andy Russell would win the other.

The Modified Sedan ranks in Tasmania will now get a well-deserved break, with the next event at the end of the month at Cranes Combined Carrick Speedway.

:: Modified Sedans

Heat 1, 10 Laps: 1. T5 Brad Herbert, 2. T26 Andy Russell, T28 Nathan Russell, 4. T46 Trent Quillerat, 5. T32 Jake Taurian, 6. T23 Paul Quillerat, 7. T72 Marco Taurian, 8. T64 Adrian Jones, 9. T21 Joshua Stephens (1 lap). Time: 2.57.460, Winning Margin: 3.106, Fastest Lap: 17.433 T5 Brad Herbert

Heat 2, 10 Laps: 1. T5 Brad Herbert, 2. T4 Barry Youl, 3. T37 Luke Williams, 4. T8 Brad Herbert, 5. T72 Marco Taurian, 6. T64 Adrian Jones, 7. T23 Paul Quillerat, 8. T3 Tomas Hext (7), 9. T27 Joshua Marston (4). Time: 2.51.095, Winning Margin: 0.990, Fastest Lap: 16.329 T5 Brad Herbert

Heat 3, 10 Laps: 1. T26 Andy Russell, 2. T46 Trent Quillerat, 3. T32 Jake Taurian, 4. T37 Luke William, 5. T3 Tomas Hext. DNF: 6. T4 Barry Youl (8), 7. T28 Nathan Russell (7). Time: 2.44.006, Winning Margin: 0.189, Fastest Lap: 16.102 T26 Andy Russell

A Main, 20 Laps: 1. T5 Brad Herbert, 2. T26 Andy Russell, 3. T37 Luke Williams, 4. T32 Jake Taurian, 5. T28 Nathan Russell, 6. T46 Trent Quillerat, 7. T72 Marco Taurian (19 laps), 8. T64 Adrian Jones (19). DNF: 9. T4 Barry Youl (4). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.187, Fastest Lap: 16.363 T5 Brad Herbert

Brad Herbert wins third consecutive Feature Race. Photo courtesy of Angryman Photography