by | Jan 9, 2024 | SSA Super Sedans, TAS

Press Release Courtesy of Super Sedans Tasmania.

Three epic weekends of Super Sedan action will kick off this weekend with the 2024 Buckby Motors Tasmanian Super Sedan Title which will also be the third round of the NSSS National Super Sedan Series at Cranes Combined Carrick Speedway on the 12th and 13th of January.

Thirty three drivers representing five states will head to the venue just outside of Launceston with seven former winners in the field chasing another Tasmanian Title.

David Nichols (eight time), Callum Harper (five time), Steve Latham, Mick Nicola Snr, Adam Beechey, Matty Pascoe and defending champion Jamie Collins (one time), will all be looking to add another title to their career resumés.

Harper is fresh off of an epic display in the K Rock Cup at Avalon and will head to Carrick full of confidence as he makes a run for his sixth Tasmanian Title, and his sixth feature win of the season.

Defending Champion Jamie Collins crossed the line third at Avalon in the K Rock Cup, and will come to Tasmania in great form having never finished off of the podium so far this season.

New South Wales Champion Matty Pascoe is no stranger to success on the ‘Apple Isle’ having claimed two of his four National Titles in Tasmania, as well as winning the Tasmanian Title the last time the event was held at Carrick.

Queensland Champion Brad Pascoe was on the podium in last seasons Tasmanian Title, after a fourth placed finish the year before, and will be looking to add the T1 to his Q1 already on the door.

Sean Black was runner up at last seasons title at Latrobe, and will be looking to go one better at Carrick on Saturday night to secure the first state title win of his Super Sedan career.

Former Victorian and South Australian Champion Mick Nicola Jnr, found his best form with a runner up finish in the K Rock Cup. Nicola Jnr will be hoping that form carries him to a maiden Tasmanian Title on Saturday night.

Steve Latham will be gunning for his second Tasmanian Title, and will be full of confidence after claiming the Geoff Stagg Memorial at Carrick last month.

Laura Davidson got her first taste of Super Sedan victory lane last time out the gate and will be hoping to make it two feature wins in a row to claim her first Tasmanian Title.

Launceston veteran David Nichols has eight Tasmanian Titles to his name, and he will embark on a campaign for title number nine at his home track on Saturday night.

Racing will kick off at 5pm on both nights. Friday nights program will feature three rounds of heats, before a further round of heats on Saturday night.

The top sixteen on points will lock directly into the forty lap main event, with the remaining drivers heading the B Main where the top six finishers will transfer to set positions seventeen through twenty two in the main event.

2024 Buckby Motors Tasmanian Super Sedan Title

Nominations (33)

T1 Jamie Collins

N1 Matty Pascoe

Q1 Brad Pascoe

T3 David Nichols

V3 Mick Nicola Snr

T4 Marcus Alexander

W4 Lee Aylett

T5 Leon Cleary

Q6 Zac Pascoe

T7 Nathan Howells

T8 Steve Latham

T9 Gil Aylett

Q10 Steve Jordan

T10 Andrew Poke

Q11 Rob Hamilton

T12 Luke Gunn

T14 Adam Beechey

T16 Dennis Davidson

T18 Dwaine Sonners

T22 Callum Harper

V23 Mick Nicola Jnr

Q26 Sean Black

T26 Peter Johnston

T44 Ian Howells

T48 Wayne Dillon

T49 Aaron Dillon

T60 Josh Tinning

T61 Laura Davidson

T73 Grant Hopkins

T75 Brendan Flynn

T88 Paul Howard

S93 Kym Jury

Q98 Michael Hally