by | Jan 25, 2023 | SSA Super Sedans, TAS

Press Release by Super Sedans Tasmania, Image by Angryman Photography.

The 2023 edition of the richest Super Sedan race in the country the Grand Prix is set to wrap up the Tassie Tiger Super Sedan Trail is Friday and Saturday night at Gulf Western and Independent Oils Raceway in Latrobe.

In excess of thirty five thousand dollars is on the line with twenty four drivers set to do battle over the $12500 winners prize.

National Champion Matty Pascoe from Queensland lead from start to finish in last weekends Grand National at AutoKlene Hobart Raceway, and will be looking to win the Grand Prix for the fourth time in his career.

Defending Grand Prix winner Callum Harper will be looking to go one better after coming second in the Grand National last weekend, and win his third Grand Prix in a row.

Victoria’s Jamie Collins was victorious in the Tasmanian Title at Latrobe two weeks ago, and will be hoping to repeat the dose to secure his first Grand Prix victory.

Queensland’s Sean Black has been on the podium in both events in the Tassie Tiger Super Sedan Trail, and will looking to end his trip to the Apple Isle with a win in the Grand Prix.

Brad Pascoe has been in great form and has also secured two top five finishes. Pascoe has taken some big wins in his young career, but if he was to greet the chequers first on Saturday night, it would undoubtedly be the biggest win of his career.

Local hopes will fall on Steve Latham who was the runner up in the Grand Prix last season, David Nichols who is former two time winner of the Grand Prix, and Corey Smith who secured a top five finish in the National Title at Latrobe last season.

Racing will kick off on Friday at 7pm with drivers taking on three heats each, before odds and evens mini feature races.

On Saturday drivers will return for two more rounds of heats before the always exciting pole shuffle which will set the field for the fifty lap feature race.

Grand Prix Honour Roll back to 2000
2023 – ?
2022 – Callum Harper
2021 – Callum Harper
2020 – Matty Pascoe
2019 – Callum Harper
2018 – Matty Pascoe
2017 – Callum Harper
2016 – Washed Out
2015 – David Nichols
2014 – Lachlan Onley
2013 – Matty Pascoe
2012 – Wayne Randall
2011 – Kevin Purton
2010 – Kevin Purton
2009 – Jarrod Harper
2008 – Washed Out
2007 – Steve Jordan
2006 – Jamie McHugh
2005 – Kevin Purton
2004 – Jamie McHugh
2003 – Jarrod Harper
2002 – Phil Townsend
2001 – Mick Nicola
2000 – Mick Nicola

Gulf Western & Independent Oils Grand Prix


A1 Matty Pascoe
N1 Steve Latham
T1 Jamie Collins
T3 David Nichols
V3 Mick Nicola
T4 Marcus Alexander
W4 Lee Aylett
T6 Corey Smith
Q10 Steve Jordan
T10 Andrew Poke
Q18 Brad Pascoe
T18 Dwaine Sonners
T22 Callum Harper
T25 Joe Breitkopf
Q26 Sean Black
T26 Peter Johnston
N47 Tyson Moon
T48 Wayne Dillon
T49 Aaron Dillon
N57 Lachlan Onley
T61 Laura Davidson
T71 Robbie Bird
T73 Grant Hopkins
T75 Brendan Flynn
Q98 Michael Hally

Super Sedans Tasmania are proudly supported by;
Angryman Photography
Assurance HR Management
BlackAzz Asphalting
Ian Boettcher Race Parts
Nets Tasmania
Platinum Prints
RTW Equipment Sales
Speedway Sedans Australia
Speedway Sedans Tasmania
Tas Plant & Supervision Hire
Total Automotive & 4WD
Turn 2
U3 Designs