Sweet As For Pascoe

by | Dec 29, 2017 | Latest News, Results

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Matty Pascoe has crushed the opposition on the second night of the Super Sedan Summer Slam, at the Fraser Shores Maryborough Speedway on Friday night, which doubled as round six of the Brims Concrete Super Sedan Series, supported by Think Money.

Pascoe and three times National Champion, Mick Nicola would start on the front row for the forty lap main event, with Nivola getting the all-important jump on a very slick race track, which made passing very hard to achieve.

Pascoe and Kane were all over Nicola through the opening ten laps, with the three drivers having eight National Titles between them, opening a gap on the remainder of the field, while the trio were separated by a mere 0.773.

Pascoe made the move under Nicola on lap eleven to take the lead, while a lap later Kane replicated the move, but unfortunately for Kane, a stoppage occurred, repositioning the order to the previously recorded lap. The stoppage was as a result of South Australian Ryan Alexander hitting an inside tyre bundle, while sitting in ninth place. Stewards were unable to apportion blame to anyone and as a result, Alexander restarted in ninth on the resultant restart.

From there, Pascoe simply drove away from the field leading by two seconds after just two laps from the stoppage, while Nicola was holding off Kane, Sean Black and Sam Roza.

At the half way mark, the lead was 5.500 seconds and growing by the lap, as Pascoe totally dominated proceedings. Pascoe was almost a second a lap faster than the opposition as the lead ballooned out to 10.2055 seconds on lap twenty seven, which would be the final stoppage of the race when Sam Grundy retired.

Within laps of the race resuming, Pascoe had again opened a commanding lead, (5.5 secs), while Nicola continued to have his hands full with Kane and Lachlan Onley who moved to fourth on lap twenty four.

Behind Pascoe, placings remained the same, close, yet processional. Matt Williams who was in seventh place throughout the race, made a mistake with five laps remaining, which cost him dearly, dropping to fifteenth.

Pascoe was simply too good, making amends for Thursday nights non-finish after a power steering hose blew while leading the event. The final margin of 10.702 was the biggest of the race, as he defeated Mick Nicola, Darren Kane, Lachlan Onley and Sean Black, with Pascoe now having won four of the five completed feature races in the Queensland series after the opening round was washed out.

Earlier, the nine heat races were won by nine different drivers, with Sean Black, Darren Kane and Callum Harper successful in the opening round, Steve Jordan, Lachlan Onley and Matty Pascoe won heats four, five and six respectively, while Ian Brims, Ryan Alexander and Mick Nicola would win the final qualifying heats. The heat of the night was the final heat, with the first five cars separated by just 1.5 seconds.

Round three of the four night series moves to Brisbanes, Archerfield Speedway.

:: Super Sedan Summer Slam Night Two

Heat 1, 10 Laps: 1. Q26 Sean Black, 2. M5 Craig Shaw, 3. M7 Grant Shaw, 4. C6 Wayne Randall, 5. N17 Lachlan Onley, 6. RK3 Matt Williams, 7. B10 Steve Jordan, 8. Q0 Justin Randall, 9. B76 Ian Brims. Time: 2.37, 357, Winning Margin: 2.782, Fastest Lap: 15.468 Q26 Sean Black

Heat 2, 10 Laps: 1. A1 Darren Kane, 2. M16 Sam Grundy, 3. N47 Darryl Moon, 4. V3 Michael Nicola, 5. S47 Ryan Alexander, 6. Q15 Gavin Northfield, 7. Q32 Kyall Fisher, 8. T41 Adam Beechey (0). Time: 2.31.929, Winning Margin: 5.417, Fastest Lap: 14.989 A1 Darren Kane

Heat 3, 10 Laps: 1. T22 Callum Harper, 2. Q1 Matty Pascoe, 3. Q22 Dale Christensen, 4. C77 Sam Roza, 5. GL39 Bob McCosker, 6. N21 Darren Anning, 7. M8 Gordon Shaw, 8. Q27 Ryan Cats (0). Time: 2.28.983, Winning Margin: 8.598, Fastest Lap: 14.676 T22 Callum Harper

Heat 4, 10 Laps: 1. B10 Steve Jordan, 2. Q32 Kyall Fisher, 3. Q0 Justin Randall, 4. GL39 Bob McCosker, 5. N21 Darren Anning, 6. Q22 Dale Christensen, 7. A1 Darren Kane, 8. S47 Ryan Alexander, 9. M5 Craig Shaw. Time: 2.37.005, Winning Margin: 4.610, Fastest Lap: 15.243 B10 Steve Jordan

Heat 5, 10 Laps: 1. N17 Lachlan Onley, 2. C77 Sam Roza, 3. V3 Michael Nicola, 4. Q76 Ian Brims, 5. T41 Adam Beechey, 6. W36 Phil Barton, 7. M8 Gordon Shaw, 8. T22 Callum Harper, 9. M7 Grant Shaw. Time: 2.38.697, Winning Margin: 0.482, Fastest Lap: 15.455 V3 Michael Nicola

Heat 6, 10 Laps: 1. Q1 Matty Pascoe, 2. RK3 Matt Williams, 3. N47 Darryl Moon, 4. C6 Wayne Randall, 5. M16 Sam Grundy, 6. Q26 Sean Black, 7. Q15 Gavin Northfield (9 laps). Time: 2.34.042, Winning Margin: 1.022, Fastest Lap: 15.144 Q1 Matty Pascoe

Heat 7, 10 Laps: 1. B76 Ian Brims, 2. Q15 Gavin Northfield, 3. Q26 Sean Black, 4. N21 Darren Anning, 5. C77 Sam Roza, 6. Q22 Dale Christensen, 7. Q32 Kyall Fisher, 8. Q0 Justin Randall. Time: 2.32.623, Winning Margin: 4.408, Fastest Lap: 14.985 B76 Ian Brims

Heat 8, 10 Laps: 1. S47 Ryan Alexander, 2. M8 Gordon Shaw, 3. M16 Sam Grundy, 4. RK3 Matt Williams, 5. T22 Callum Harper, 6. M5 Craig Shaw, 7. Q1 Matty Pascoe, 8. B10 Steve Jordan, 9. T41 Adam Beechey (0). Time: 2.33.794, Winning Margin: 4.998, Fastest Lap: 15.050 S47 Ryan Alexander

Heat 9, 10 Laps: 1. V3 Michael Nicola, 2. A1 Darren Kane, 3. C6 Wayne Randall, 4. W36 Phil Barton, 5. N17 Lachlan Onley, 6. GL39 Bob McCosker, 7. M7 Grant Shaw, 8. N47 Darryl Moon (9 laps). Time: 2.40.920, Winning Margin: 0.330, Fastest Lap: 15.154 V3 Michael Nicola

B Main, 10 Laps: 1. Q15 Gavin Northfield, 2. GL39 Bob McCosker, 3. Q22 Dale Christensen, 4. Q0 Justin Randall, 5. Q32 Kyall Fisher, 6. N21 Darren Anning, 7. M7 Grant Shaw, 8. M5 Craig Shaw (4 laps), 9. T41 Adam Beechey (4). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 2.659, Fastest Lap: 15.166 N21 Darren Anning

A Main, 40 Laps: 1. Q1 Matty Pascoe, 2. V3 Mick Nicola, 3. A1 Darren Kane, 4. N17 Lachlan Onley, 5. Q26 Sean Black, 6. C77 Sam Roza, 7. B76 Ian Brims, 8. S47 Ryan Alexander, 9. W36 Phil Barton, 10. C6 Wayne Randall, 11. Q15 Gavin Northfield, 12. Q0 Justin Randall, 13. Q22 Dale Christensen, 14. B10 Steve Jordan, 15. RK3 Matt Williams, 16. M8 Gordon Shaw (39), 17. GL39 Bob McCosker (38), 18. T22 Callum Harper (29), 19. N47 Darryl Moon (5), 20. M16 Sam Grundy (24). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 10.702, Fastest Lap: 15.403 T22 Callum Harper

Brims Concrete Super Sedan Series Sponsors

Afco Shock Doctor
B&J Car Sales
Think Investment Realty
Brims Concrete
Barnes Drilling
Queensland Speedway Spares
Think Money
Ian Boettcher Race Parts
Tanias Ts
Motorsports Promotions Racegear
McCosker Contracting
Ford Wreckers Redcliffe
Speedway Sedans Australia