Super Sedan Grand National This Weekend

by | Jan 23, 2018 | Latest News

Speedway Sedans Australia News

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

The time honoured Super Sedan Grand National will be held this Friday and Saturday nights at the Solo Hobart Speedway, with twenty five drivers entered for the forty fifth running of the event.

Defending Champion, Callum Harper will be looking to become the first driver since Darren Kane in 2009 and 2010 to go back to back in the event, and also will be looking to go one better on last Saturday nights thrilling Grand Prix, where he and Matt Pascoe traded the lead in the concluding laps.

Matt Pascoes amazing run of form and success has seen the Queensland Champion win five Feature races in a row, and it could have been seven if not for a mechanical issue at the commencement of the Super Sedan Summer Slam.

One driver who may be able to stop the Pascoe dominance is Darren Kane, who has won this event four times in the past ten years, and always performs well at the Hobart venue.

The field is almost identical to last weekends field, which will ensure another two brilliant nights of racing.

Live Audio will be available on both nights on Channel 2 on Speedway Sedans Australias website. Events for Junior Sedans and Street Stock are scheduled for both nights.


V0 Lucas Roberts
A1 Darren Kane
Q1 Matt Pascoe
V2 Peter Nicola
T3 David Nichols
V3 Mick Nicola
T7 Nathan Howells
S8 Dave Gartner
T8 Steve Latham
Q10 Steve Jordan
T16 Corey Smith
N17 Lachlan Onley
N21 Darren Anning
T22 Callum Harper
N23 Andrew White
V23 Mick Nicola Jnr
T24 Anthony Manion
T25 Joe Breitkopf
Q26 Sean Black
T41 Adam Beechey
S47 Ryan Alexander
T47 Lucas Dillon
T48 Wayne Dillon
T61 Laura Davidson
S93 Kym Jury

Previous Winners (Last Ten Years)

2008 Kevin Purton
2009 Darren Kane (Qld)
2010 Darren Kane (Qld)
2011 Jamie McHugh (Qld)
2012 Lachlan Onley (NSW)
2013 Jimmy Owens (USA)
2014 Darren Kane (Qld)
2015 Matt Pascoe (Qld)
2016 Darren Kane (Qld)
2017 Callum Harper

Who will break Matt Pascoes amazing run of form? Photo courtesy of Angryman Photography