by | May 14, 2024 | QLD, SSA Super Sedans

Press Release by Luke Nichols

This weekends Queensland Super Sedan Title at Autobarn Carina International Speedway is set to be a captivating affair as thirty eight thundering SSA Super Sedans vie to become Queensland Champion.

The field is set to be a who’s who of the Super Sedan division, with five states set to represented. The field features every current National and State Champion, as well as four former National Champions, and another six former State Champions from around the country.

Defending Champion Brad Pascoe (Brad Pascoe Racing) will put his crown on the line as he looks to wrap up his really strong season by going back to back in the Queensland Title and keep it on the door along with the Tasmanian Title that he won at Carrick earlier in the season

Looking to take the Q1 from Brad’s door will be his own Dad, Matty Pascoe (Matty Pascoe Racing) who is an eight time Queensland Title winner. Pascoe will look to add the Queensland Title to his NSW & Victorian Titles, and chase the twentieth title of his illustrious career at Bundaberg on Saturday night.

They will be joined by National Champion Darren Kane (Darren Kane Motorsport) who will look to become a three time Queensland Champion after his victories at Gympie in 2008, and Kingaroy in 2014, and win the twenty first title of his storied career.

South Australian Champion, Tasmania’s Callum Harper (Harper Racing Team) will look to tick off one of the races that has alluded him throughout his career to date, and claim his first Queensland Title on Saturday night at Bundaberg.

WA Champion Dave Gartner will be the lone South Australian competitor in the field, and will hope to add the Queensland Title to the WA Title he won at Mount Barker earlier in the season.

Rockhampton’s Matt Williams (Matt Williams Motorsports) will come into the Queensland Title with plenty of momentum after claiming the GP53 at Gladstone this past Saturday. Williams will hope that momentum will carry him to a second Queensland Title after his victory at Rockhampton in 2010.

Toowoomba’s Sean Black (Sean Black’s Team Racing) has been runner up in four of the last six Queensland Titles. Black will look to breakthrough for his first Queensland Title victory, and first State Title of his career on Saturday night at Bundaberg.

Former National Champion Trent Wilson (Team Wilson 44) from Townsville is another driver that will chase his first Queensland Title. Wilson has had a challenging season, and a Queensland Title victory would be a perfect way to put all the misfortune behind him.

Mitchell Gee (Mitchell Gee Motorsport) is a former Queensland Sprintcar Champion, and will look to add a Queensland Super Sedan Title to his Ian Boettcher Classic victory from earlier in the season.

Victorian Ash Bergmeier has stood on the podium in Queensland Titles twice with two third placed finishes at Toowoomba in 2015, and 2017. Bergmeier will look to go two better on Saturday night and claim the first state title of his career.

The former National and State Champions in the field are more than capable of going to victory lane on Saturday night.

Mick Nicola Snr (NRT Racing), Steve Jordan (Steve Jordan Motorsports), David Nichols (David Nichols Racing), Steve Latham (Latham Racing) and Mick Nicola Jnr have all tasted Title success across their careers and will hope to add a Queensland Title to their resumes on Saturday night.

Not to be outdone, the young guns in the Super Sedan division are also set to excite, and will look to outdo their more seasoned competitors at Bundaberg on Saturday night.

Tyson Moon (Moons Racing), Brock Atkins (Atkins Family Racing), Zac Pascoe (Zac Pascoe Racing), JJ Hamilton (Hamilton Racing), Todd Atkins, Zac Brims, Dylan Barrow (DLB Racing ), Casey Collins (Casey Collins Racing) and Harry Doyle will look to put on a show, and claim the first Super Sedan Title of their careers on Saturday night.

The thirty eight drivers will tackle three rounds of heats, with the top sixteen qualifiers locking directly into the forty lap Queensland Title A Main.

The remaining six starters will come from a pair of B Mains, with the top three finishers from each transferring to the main event (as per SSQ Super Sedan Title information sheet).

The action is set to commence at 4pm, and if you’re unable to make it to the venue, the action will be streamed live on Clay Per View.

Official Nominations (38)

Q1 Brad Pascoe

A1 Darren Kane

N1 Matty Pascoe

N3 Tania Smith

GL3 Martin Newton

Q3 Matt Williams

T3 David Nichols

V3 Mick Nicola Snr

Q4 Sam Hughes

Q6 Zac Pascoe

Q8 Graeme Rangihuna

T8 Steve Latham

Q9 Jamie Williams

Q10 Steve Jordan

Q11 Mitchell Gee

V16 Ash Bergmeier

V17 Dylan Barrow

S18 Dave Gartner

Q21 Casey Collins

T22 Callum Harper

V23 Mick Nicola Jnr

LV26 Brad White

Q26 Sean Black

Q27 Ryan Cats

N29 Zac Brims

Q31 Harry Doyle

Q33 Justin Randall

V36 Todd Atkins

Q39 Bob McCosker

Q42 Michael Taylor

Q44 Trent Wilson

N47 Tyson Moon

Q48 JJ Hamilton

T48 Wayne Dillon

N57 Brock Atkins

Q83 DJ Lennon

Q96 Josh McLaren

Q98 Michael Hally