Simpson Wins Maiden Title

by | Apr 8, 2019 | Latest News, Results


Speedway Sedans Australia News

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Daniel Simpson has won the biggest race of his career, when he won the Victorian Modified Sedan Title on Saturday night at the Blue Ribbon Raceway, Horsham.

In a race of ever changing fortunes, and one of attrition, with just ten finishing, Simpson would defeat Brody Chrystie and Darren Cockerill.

Jake Drewett and Martin Hawson would start on the front row for the thirty five lap A Main, with Drewett getting the best of the start, leading through the opening eight laps. Engine dramas, which have plagued Drewett throughout the summer, continued while in the lead, with the car starting to over heat which allowed Hawson to take the lead.

Hawson, who won the event in 2015, had a small lead over the chasing pack, as Simpson moved to second on lap sixteen at the demise of Drewett, who retired soon after.

Hawson had a small but handy lead as Simpson and Chrystie chased, with Jeff Leahy who started on the fourth row moving to fourth.

The race was turned on its head twice in the concluding stages, with Martin Hawson retiring with electrical issues with four laps remaining while leading, handing the lead to Simpson.

A stoppage with three laps remaining, bunched the field, but Simpson drove away in the final three laps to win convincingly. Chrystie, Cockerill and a fast finishing Andrew Blackwell, practically crossed the line together, with just 0.730 separating the trio, with Blackwell at the back of the field with fifteen laps remaining. Kye Walters, who struggled through the night would finish fifth, with Jeff Leahy rounding out the top six.

: Victorian Modified Sedan Title

A Main, 35 Laps: 1. HO33 Daniel Simpson, 2. AX32 Brody Chrystie, 3. RDL11 Darren Cockerill, 4. N7 Andrew Blackwell, 5. RDL46Kye Walters, 6. AV11 Jeff Leahy, 7. W32 Mick Johnson, 8. S25 Chris Hayden, 9. MDA6 Peter McCarthy, 10. MDA86 Angelo Halacas (32 laps). DNF: 11. MDA18 Jake Drewett (22), 12. HA36 Jakobe Jetson (20), 13. AX61 Matt Nelson(20), 14. BGO56 Graham West (15), 15. V1 Aidan Raymont (13), 16. NY13 Russell Bent (13), 17. GV94 Rachel Pratt (13), 18. N16 Russell Felsovary (12), 19. AV14 Matt Gerlach (12), 20. N15 Dale Hallett (2), 21. MDA72 Martin Hawson (31). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 4.128, Fastest Lap: 18.152 MDA72 Martin Hawson

Photo courtesy of Highside Promotions