by | Jan 29, 2023 | QLD, SSA Modified Sedans

Image by 44 Photography.

Hailing from Toowoomba in Queensland, Shane Macdonald has claimed victory in the 11th Annual Kings Royal for Modified Sedans at the IBRP Kingaroy Speedway in Queensland on Saturday Night.

Despite suffering a driveline issue earlier in the evening, the driver of the Linmac Automotive backed entry joined Greg Worling as a Holden Commodore driver who has claimed victory in the event.

With a monster crowd on hand at the Showgrounds venue, the fifty lap finale to the three nights of competition was a fitting end to proceedings.

The drama began before the race even got underway as the home town hero Brett Barron suffered a failure in rear of his Holden Commodore.

This left twenty three cars to battle it out for the $10,000 winners cheque in what has fast become one of the most prestigious Speedway Sedan events in the country.

Former National Champions Max Clarke and Aidan Raymont shared the front row as Clarke took the early lead in the Superior Painting Holden Commodore from Northern New South Wales.

Raymont’s race was over on lap nine with the driver of the Cooroy Auto Wreckers unfortunately collecting Gary Pagel as he headed infield which also put Pagel out.

Clarke was also a casualty on lap nine with three time National Champion Mark Carlin inheriting the race lead in the Cush Clothing Nissan.

Within fourteen laps former Kings Royal Champion Kye Walters had worked his way into the top three after transferring from the B Main earlier in the night.

Macdonald began to work the bottom of the racetrack to perfection as he raced three wide with both Carlin and Walters as they approach the middle portion of the race.

As the laps wound down Macdonald put a gap between himself and his rivals before Walters began to work the top side of the racetrack.

Walters hit the front with fourteen laps to run before Macdonald wrestled back the lead in the concluding stages.

Macdonald crossed the line at the end of the fifty laps over two seconds clear of Walters from Carlin with local Josh Harm officially fourth from Victorian youngster Dylan Barrow.

In victory lane Macdonald was elated to finally clinch the win after coming so close in previous years.

Planning is already underway for the 12th Annual Kings Royal to be held in January 2024.


A Main, 50 Laps- 1. CR27 Shane Macdonald, V1 Kye Walters, 3. CR2 Mark Carlin, 4. SB55 Josh Harm, 5. V17 Dylan Barrow, 6. RK42 Brenton Scott, 7. CR32 Nathan Macdonald, 8. N11 Greg Worling, 9. RK26 Mason Cameron, 10. T1 Corey Jetson (49),11. Q1 Mick Shelford (49), 12. MK19 Wayne Gilroy (49), 13. SB17 Aaron Alcock (49), DNF CR8 Rodney Pammenter (41), CR72 Shane Langton (33), N38 Tristan McGraw (31), T1 Jakobe Jetson (28), BB81 Dennis Shallcross (21), V61 Matt Nelson (15), N15 Max Clarke (9), G28 Aidan Raymont (9), G68 Gary Pagel (9), CR9 Joel Berkley (5), DNS SB148 Brett Barron.