Sean Black Wins At Gympie

by | Feb 5, 2019 | Latest News, Results

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

The Brims Concrete Super Sedan Series supported by Think Money was held at the Corbets Group, Mothar Mountain Speedway in Gympie, on Saturday night, resulting in a dramatic finish after 30 laps.

In fact the race went thirty one laps due to a green, white, chequered flag finish in what was a great race, between eventual winner, Sean Black and Ian Brims who led all but the last two laps.

Six qualifying heats were held and were evenly shared, as has been custom with the series. With Mark Pagel narrowly winning the opening head, before Darren Kane comfortably won heat two. Kane backed up his earlier win by narrowly defeating Dale Christensen in heat three, with Tania Smith downing Mark Pagel by a mere 0.162 in heat four. The final round of heats saw race wins to Wayne Randall and Ian Brims, both recording comfortable wins.

Darren Kane, Tania Smith, Ian Brims, Mark Pagel, Sean Black and Dale Christensen were the top six, and would face the marble draw for positions in the A Main. Ian Brims was successful drawing the number one marble with Sean Black starting on his outside. Dale Christensen would make up row two with Darren Kane, while Tania Smith and Mark Pagel were draw the third row.

Brims would lead from the outset from Sean Black, with the racing close and tight throughout.

Christensen would drop right back through the field in the early stages, with Mark Pagel dropping to seventh in the early stages before moving to fourth on lap five.

Likewise, Wayne Randall went backwards at the start, dropping to tenth, but by lap seven, he was in fifth place as positions behind the leaders changed continually.

Black hounded Brims lap after lap, as Randall and Pagel both passed Darren Kane in one lap at the mid-way point of the race. Pagel then would get the better of Randall with ten laps remaining.

The duel for the lead came to a crescendo with contact between Black and Brims, with Brims being deemed the cause and sent to the rear of the field.

Black would survive the two lap restart to defeat Mark Pagel, Wayne Randall, Darren Kane, David Musch and Joshua McLaren.

Feature Race, 30 Laps: 1. Q26 Sean Black, 2. G4 Mark Pagel, 3. C6 Wayne Randall, 4. Q36 Darren Kane, 5. SB12 David Musch, 6. BB96 Joshua McLaren, 7. GL39 Bob McCosker, 8. Q22 Dale Christensen, 9. B76 Ian Brims (29 laps), 10. C20 Nicholas OKeeffe (14), 11. N3 Tania Smith (4), 12. RK31 Brodie Boss (4). DISQ: C56 David OKeeffe (18). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.694, Fastest Lap: 17.896 Q36 Darren Kane

Photo courtesy of Angryman Photography