by | Jan 29, 2023 | SSA Super Sedans, TAS

Press Release by Super Sedans Tasmania.

Queensland’s Sean Black has won the Gulf Western & Independent Oils Grand Prix at Latrobe.After five rounds of heats Tasmanian Callum Harper and Victorian Jamie Collins were tied at the top of the points standings heading into the pole shuffle.

Harper would win the pole shuffle to secure pole position for the fifty lap main event.

Harper would opt to start from the outside of the front row, with Collins to start from pole position.Harper would jump away to an early lead, with Collins, Black and Matty Pascoe in hot pursuit.

Black would make the move second on lap twelve into turn three.

Black was to utilise lap traffic to take the position, and set out after Harper for the lead of the race.

The caution flag would fly for the first time on lap fourteen when Steve Jordan and Lachlan Onley came together heading into turn one.

Onley would be able to continue, but Jordan’s race would end succumbing to the damage.

Pascoe would move on to the podium on lap twenty, accounting for Collins to take third.

The caution flag would fly again lap twenty three for Onley, who would exit the race after contact with a lap car.

The caution flag was back out straight after the restart for a stricken Brad Pascoe, whose race would end with mechanical failure.

Harper would come away from the cushion on the restart, and Black would capitalise sailing right around the outside to take the lead on lap twenty five.

Black would drive away to a good advantage, and Harper would come under increasing pressure from Pascoe who would briefly take second on lap thirty eight.

Harper would fight back and re-take the position.

Black made contact with a lap car in turn four, the lap car came down the track and Harper made heavy contact, sustaining to the right rear corner of the car.

Harper was able to restart and had nine laps to try and take the lead back from Black.Harper would throw everything, but the kitchen sink at Black.

Black was able to repel the challenge and drive away in the final laps to become the thirtieth different winner of the Grand Prix.

Harper would cross the line second, just clear of Pascoe in third. Collins continued his good form with a fourth placed finish, and Tyson Moon would round out the top five.

Super Sedans Tasmania would like to thank all the drivers for their support in attending the 2023 Tassie Tiger Super Sedan Trail, and we look forward to having you back again next year.

Gulf Western & Independent Oils Grand Prix

A Main – 50 laps, 1. Q26 Sean Black, 2. T22 Callum Harper, 3. A1 Matty Pascoe, 4. T1 Jamie Collins, 5. N47 Tyson Moon, 6. V3 Mick Nicola, 7. T6 Corey Smith, 8. N1 Steve Latham, 9. T71 Robbie Bird, 10. T3 David Nichols, 11. Q98 Michael Hally, 12. W4 Lee Aylett, 13. T61 Laura Davidson, 14. T4 Marcus Alexander, 15. T18 Dwaine Sonners, 16. T49 Aaron Dillon (49), 17. T10 Andrew Poke (48), 18. T73 Grant Hopkins (48), 19. T26 Peter Johnston (45), DNF T75 Brendan Flynn (37), Q18 Brad Pascoe (23), N57 Lachlan Onley (23), Q10 Steve Jordan (14).