by | Oct 8, 2023 | SSA Junior Sedans, SSA Production Sedans, SSA Street Stocks

Press Release by Speedway Sedans Western Australia.

He may have been lucky to draw out the pole and start on his lonesome for the 28-lap Main Event. Still, National Champion Kyle Sayer was nothing less than dominant in the 2023 East Pilbara Tyre Services Ash Page Memorial at Hillview Speedway in Newman tonight.

The special featuring the old school ‘Butchers Picnic’ between Street Stocks and Production Sedans saw a marble draw for the drivers to get their starting positions, and Sayer drawing out the one, was never challenged as he went on to win by 18 seconds over Craig Clayton and Jack McAuley.

The start is an extra unique feature of the event, with Sayer starting solo on the front row, with pole position save for Ash Page and his memory.

Clayton had his hands complete in the opening half of the event, with at least six cars at one stage challenging him for the bridesmaid position. Still, in the end, McAuley, Donny Davis and Alec Melvin elevated themselves as the genuine contenders once the dust settled.

Melvin would be the first to falter as he retired after he and Davis continued to switch positions, trying to find a way past the faltering McAuley, who seems to have issues towards the end of the event.

But there was no questioning the pace of Sayer, who was untouched and lapped up to fourth place.

Regarding the divisional Feature Races, Donny Davis started from the pole and dominated in the 15-lap event, winning comfortably from Daniel Flavel and Lenny Bates, giving the Newman locals the trifecta.

Alec Melvin drove fantastic in the Production Sedan Feature to down Sayer. Melvin, who started outside of Sayer, got the jump on him and never looked back as McAuley finished third.

Charlie Scott again showed his dominance in the New Star Junior Sedans, winning comfortably from Emily Bates, who took out a heat race win during the night, and Chole Munro, who put on a show in the closing laps running up against the concrete wall.

The Top Star Junior Sedan Feature got off in the worst possible way for Max Lang as he could not even make it to the start line before he hit the wall, ending his night. Jett Downs was a convincing winner of the 12-lap journey over Mitch Binning and Harrison Reigert.


Ash Page Memorial Race, 28 laps: 1. W56 Ash Page, 2. A1 Kyle Sayer, 3. W35 Craig Clayton, 4. W25 Dwayne Meagher, 5. W53 Leon Wood, 6. W15 Daniel Flavel, 7. W74 Lenny Bates, 8. W96 Jack McAuley, 9. W3 Rob Fraser, 10. W19 Josh Stewart, 11. W112 Warren Flavel, 12. W411 Reece Jones, 13. W3 Donny Davis, 14. W88 Alec Melvin, 15. W26 Cade Munro, 16. W89 Hunter Downs, 17. W74 Bernie Matkovich, 18. W56 Brandon Mongoo, 19. W86 Wayne Leviston.


1. A1 Kyle Sayer, 2. W35 Craig Clayton, 3. W96 Jack McAuley, 4. W3 Donny Davis, 5. W74 Lenny Bates (27), 6. W25 Dwayne Meagher (27), 7. W56 Brandon Mongoo (27), 8. W89 Hunter Downs (27), 9. W19 Josh Stewart (27). DNF: W88 Alec Melvin (23), W53 Leon Wood (19), W411 Reece Jones (11), W112 Warren Flavel (7), W74 Bernie Matkovich (7), W26 Cade Munro (7), W15 Daniel Flavel (1). DNS: W3 Rob Fraser, W86 Wayne Leviston. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 18.647. Fastest Lap: 21.864 A1 Kyle Sayer.

Top Star Junior Sedans Feature, 12 laps: 1. W89 Jett Downs, 2. W2 Max Lang, 3. W10 Mitch Binning, 4. W95 Harrison Riegert, 5. W27 Malik Gordon, 6. W19 Katie Beadle.


1. W89 Jett Downs, 2. W10 Mitch Binning, 3. W95 Harrison Riegert, 4. W27 Malik Gordon.

DNF: W19 Katie Beadle (8), W2 Max Lang. Total Time: 4.49.969. Winning Margin: 3.001. Fastest Lap: 23.634 W89 Jett Downs.

New Star Junior Sedans Feature, 12 laps: 1. W011 Charlie Scott, 2. W47 Emily Bates, 3. W24 Chloe Munro, 4. W88 James Monks.


1. W011 Charlie Scott, 2. W47 Emily Bates, 3. W24 Chloe Munro. DNF: W88 James Monks (8). Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 8.290. Fastest Lap: 23.550 W011 Charlie Scott.

Production Sedans Feature, 15 laps: 1. A1 Kyle Sayer, 2. W88 Alec Melvin, 3. W53 Leon Wood, 4. W74 Bernie Matkovich, 5. W3 Rob Fraser, 6. W96 Jack McAuley, 7. W86 Wayne Leviston, 8. W56 Brandon Mongoo, 9. W112 Warren Flavel, 10. W25 Dwayne Meagher, 11. W202 Michael Roberts.


1. W88 Alec Melvin, 2. A1 Kyle Sayer, 3. W96 Jack McAuley, 4. W25 Dwayne Meagher, 5. W3 Rob Fraser. DNF: W56 Brandon Mongoo (11), W74 Bernie Matkovich (10), W202 Michael Roberts (7), W112 Warren Flavel (6), W53 Leon Wood (4). DNS: W86 Wayne Leviston. Total Time: 5.40.035. Winning Margin: 0.152. Fastest Lap: 22.189 A1 Kyle Sayer.

Street Stocks Feature, 15 laps: 1. W3 Donny Davis, 2. W15 Daniel Flavel, 3. W19 Josh Stewart, 4. W26 Cade Munro, 5. W25 Harry Wingfield, 6. WX15 Adam Power, 7. W74 Lenny Bates, 8. W89 Hunter Downs, 9. W411 Reece Jones, 10. W35 Craig Clayton, 11. W172 Jim McGorman.


1. W3 Donny Davis, 2. W15 Daniel Flavel, 3. W74 Lenny Bates, 4. W19 Josh Stewart, 5. W35 Craig Clayton, 6. WX15 Adam Power, 7. W26 Cade Munro, 8. W411 Reece Jones. DNF: W25 Harry Wingfield (0), W89 Hunter Downs (0). DNS: W172 Jim McGorman. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 4.438. Fastest Lap: 22.385 W3 Donny Davis.