by | Apr 17, 2021 | SSA Production Sedans, WA

Images by Peter Roebuck

Some seventeen years since his last feature race win at the Perth Motorplex, Kyle Sayer has tonight climbed back up onto the top step of the podium as he claimed the SSA Production Sedan feature race at the venue.

For the first time since 2017, the Motorplex would host events for SSA Production Sedans and a good fifteen car field would make their way to the venue to compete.

Sayer was dominant throughout the night, the only blemish on his record a second place to Jake Blight in the opening heat of the night.

In the second heat Sayer would hit the front and grab the one lap Production Sedan record at the venue, then in the fifteen lap feature race he would be well under record time until the yellow lights came on for another car, seeing his record chances dashed.

Sayer would however have good battles with Jake Blight throughout the night, but unfortunately Blight would finish two of his three feature races on the infield, while Rod Musarra performed strongly in the feature after crunching the wall in the opening heat and losing a wheel.

When all was said and done though, it was Sayer who defeated Musarra and Jayden Maughan in the feature race, the first time Sayer had won a feature at the Motorplex since the 12th of March 2004, when he won a Junior Sedan feature race.

Congratulations to all who competed at the Perth Motorplex on this ‘Fast Friday’ and fingers crossed we get the chance to do it again on a more regular basis again next season!

Release by DTN Media.

Official Result

Feature Race, 15 laps: 1. W95 Kyle Sayer, 2. W61 Jake Blight, 3. W13 Brad Mitchell, 4. W12 Rod Musarra, 5. W92 Ricky Williams, 6. W186 Mitchell Moody, 7. W40 Beau Riley, 8. W11 Ashley Baker, 9. W9 Mitchell Baker, 10. W2 Jayden Maughan, 11. W86 Wayne Leviston, 12. W71 Shaun Brewer, 13. W9 Ryan Mitchell, 14. W37 John Triplett, 15. W88 David Merini.RESULT1. W95 Kyle Sayer, 2. W12 Rod Musarra, 3. W2 Jayden Maughan, 4. W40 Beau Riley, 5. W13 Brad Mitchell, 6. W92 Ricky Williams, 7. W9 Mitchell Baker, 8. W71 Shaun Brewer. DNF: W61 Jake Blight (10), W86 Wayne Leviston (9), W11 Ashley Baker (7). DQ: W186 Mitchell Moody. DNS: W9 Ryan Mitchell, W37 John Triplett, W88 David Merini. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: Declared. Fastest Lap: 21.264 W61 Jake Blight.