by | Oct 3, 2020 | SSA Production Sedans, WA

Photos by Fastlane Photography

The Two Holden Commodores of Kye Blight and Kyle Sayer are tied at the top after night one of the 2020 SSA Production Sedans WA State Title that is being held at the Make Smoking History Bunbury Speedway.

Eighteen tightly contested heat races were held before a solid crowd as competitors and spectators braved extremely chilly conditions.

The first nine cars in the point score after night one are all Holden Commodores with track conditions outstanding across the evening.

2010 National Champion Rod Musarra put on a dominating performance to win the opening heat of the state title by over four seconds from Jakye Malcolm and Shane Brittain who moved through the field over the ten laps.

Geraldton’s Ashley Baker was untouchable in heat two with Kye Blight making his presence felt early in the weekend by winning heat three from Barry Rose and defending champion Jamie Oldfield.

Kyle Sayer won by over seven seconds in heat four from Shane Dubberlin and the best presented car in the State Title Peter Huntjens.

2015 WA Champion Mick Hamon defeated a fast finishing Drew Ogle and Rick Musarra in the final heat of the opening round after Jake Blight who crossed the line first was disqualified post race.

Current Western Australian Modified Sedan Champion Branden Fraser worked the bottom of the race track beautifully in heat seven with Barry Rose and Ashley Baker continuing their winter season rivalry as they battled for second place.

Jake Blight made amends in heat eight to defeat defending champion Jamie Oldfield and 2006 WA Champion Richard Nelson.

2009 WA Production Sedan Champion Kye Blight had his Blight’s Auto Electrics Holden Commodore dialled into the track conditions in heat nine becoming the first driver in the title to win multiple heat races as Kyle Sayer replicated Blight’s performance in heat ten.

Rod Musarra continued his great title in heat eleven scoring his second win as the final heat of the second round was the race of the night as Ogle, Josh Fraser and Mick Hamon staged a great three car battle for the lead with Ogle narrowly prevailing.

The beautifully turned out Holden Commodore of Peter Huntjens lead the entire ten laps in heat thirteen to kick off the final round with Jake Blight storming through the field to finish second.

Heat Fourteen was a dramatic affair as Wayne Leviston suffered major mechanical issues on lap four with Hamish Macalpine and Benny Curtin limping to the end of the race with Curtin taking the thirty six points.

Collie’s Rickie Nuccini and Beau Riley put on an outstanding display of wheel to wheel racing for the lead in heat fifteen with Nuccini prevailing by 0.208 seconds over Riley and Ashley Baker.

Multiple state and national champion Ron Belfield couldn’t hold off Kyle Sayer for the ten laps in heat sixteen as Sayer won for the third time.

Mick Hamon drove a smart race to lead home Karratha’s Jack McAuley and Jayke Malcolm in heat seventeen as cars raced all over the Make Smoking History Bunbury Speedway.

Jamie Graham couldn’t hold off Kye Blight in the final heat of the evening with the talented Katanning native firming as a strong contender.

Proceedings on the final night get underway from around 5pm tomorrow as the title comes to a thrilling climax.

The Point Score after night one of the 2020 SSA Production Sedans WA State Title

  1. W71 Kye Blight 108
  2. W95 Kyle Sayer 108
  3. W7 Mick Hamon 95
  4. W12 Rod Musarra 89
  5. W10 Ashley Baker 87
  6. W5 Peter Huntjens 82
  7. WA96 Jack McAuley 79
  8. W23 Jayke Malcolm 74
  9. W99 Benny Curtin 72
  10. W666 Peter Katona 72
  11. W41 Rickie Nuccini 70
  12. W181 Barry Rose 68
  13. WA61 Jake Blight 64
  14. W13 Drew Ogle 64
  15. WA1 Jamie Oldfield 64
  16. W40 Beau Riley 62
  17. W2 Branden Fraser 61
  18. WA31 Ethan Cooper 59
  19. W61 Ron Belfield 58
  20. W78 Jacky Moroney 55
  21. W22 Jamie Graham 54
  22. W31 Kane McDiarmid 51
  23. W60 Richard Nelson 49
  24. W00 Hamish Macalpine 48
  25. WA5 Josh Fraser 46
  26. WA71 Aydan Trewern 44
  27. W88 Shane Brittain 44
  28. WA13 Shane Dubberlin 44
  29. W46 Jason Batchelor 40
  30. W58 Jayden McCuish 39
  31. W114 Daniel Flavel 37
  32. W86 Wayne Leviston 37
  33. W21 Rick Musarra 36
  34. WA11 Josh Macalpine 35
  35. W125 Shaun Brewer 35
  36. W26 Robbie Trenaman 34
  37. WA7 Prue Plowright 34
  38. W14 Anthony Page 33
  39. W8 Jamie Higgs 32
  40. W91 Blane Devonshire 32
  41. W9 Tim Maughan 31
  42. W36 Joe Wilson 30
  43. W27x Nicholas Porter 27
  44. W6 Hayden Norman 26
  45. W7x Terry Main 24
  46. W57 Kelsey Beard 24
  47. W15 Ryan Yates 20
  48. W27 Rachel Spalding 19
  49. W187 Barry Roberts 19
  50. W11 Daniel Day 16
  51. W54 Graeme Rafferty 16
  52. W4 Allan Harper 15
  53. W186 Mitchell Moody 15
  54. W16 Cody Blight 14
  55. W17 Craig Lenane 14
  56. WA27 Rob Nickels 10
  57. W19 Josh Stewart 5
  58. W25 David Brewer 0
  59. W96 Shaune Davy 0