by | Jan 30, 2022 | SSA Street Stocks, TAS

Image by Angryman Photography

The SSA Street Stocks provided fantastic to the 2022 SSA National Super Sedan Title this past Friday & Saturday Night at the Gulf Western & Independent Oils Raceway in Latrobe Tasmania.

A huge online audience along with a bumper trackside crowd enjoyed the Ford vs Holden battle, with Nick Taylor claiming the Friday night main event in what was tricky conditions for the competitors.

Taylor got out to a handy lead in the early laps of Saturday Night’s finale after starting on the outside of the front row.

Matt Atkinson who was sitting inside of the top five as the leaders began to lap traffic would unfortunately come to grief after getting caught up with another car damaging the left front suspension of his Ford Falcon.

Race leader Nick Taylor would be the cause of the next stoppage suffering a flat right rear tyre to his Holden Commodore on lap seven.

Tasmanian Champion Corey Bauld inherited the lead from Taylor as Nathan Russell started to harass the back bumper of the Ford Falcon in front of him.

With eight laps remaining Damien Hall came to a stop on the high side of the race track with the leaders being bunched up once more for the run to the chequered flag.

Harry Auton made heavy contact with concrete wall while sitting in seventh position as the former Tasmanian Junior Sedan Champion managed to limp his Ford Falcon to the infield.

Russell continued to apply the pressure to Corey Bauld with drama striking the race leader within sight of the finish as he too suffered a flat tyre.

The T23 Holden Commodore just had to negotiate the final lap in the lead to take victory by 1.5 seconds from Steven Harvey & Jade Waddington.

SSA Street Stocks in Tasmania are back in action next weekend at the Cranes Combined Carrick Speedway for the two night Killa Earthworx 20/20 event.

Official Result

20 Laps- 1. T23 Nathan Russell, 2. T4 Steven Harvey, 3. T8 Jade Waddington, 4. T70 Adrian Lawrence, 5. T29 Caleb Auton, 6. T121 Lucas Dickenson, 7. T15 Daniel Cunningham, 8. T110 Terry Hammond, 9. T28 Dale Riley Snr, 10. T87 Liam McLennan, 11. T99 Ben Pinfold, 12. T60 David McCulloch, 13. T30 Bradley Currant (19), 14. T69 Darren Saunders (17), DNF T77 Corey Bauld (18), T3 Harry Auton (13), T50 Damien Hall (11), T11 Matt Crawford (8), T45 Braiden Russell (8), T16 Nicholas Taylor (7), T35 Matt Atkinson (5), T96 Richard Mundy (4), T94 Luke Morgan (3).