by | Aug 29, 2021 | SSA Production Sedans, WA

Image by GEC Images

2018 WA Production Sedan Champion Barry Rose waited until the final lap to hit the lead and claim victory in the 2021 Perth TQ Car Club Production Sedan Open Championship held earlier today at the Kellerberrin Speedway in Western Australia.

Rose moved past Josh Fraser within sight of the chequered flag in the twenty lap main with the duo having a fantastic scrap for the lead for the majority of the race along with Katanning’s Jake Blight who lead the first twelve laps.

Twenty Two SSA Production Sedans were in attendance for the race meeting which as always offered a significant prize pool and doubled as Round Three of the 2021 Natrad SSD Four Crowns Series.

Blight & Fraser occupied the front row for the main event with the first attempt at a start resulting in a multi car pile up towards the tail of the field with Moora’s Craig Lenane out of the race with steering damage.

One lap would be complete before Cody Blight & Tylar Main made contact with Blight unable to continue.

Nineteen laps remained when Jake Blight lead the field to the green flag as the race seemingly started to settle into a rhythm with Blight, Fraser, Rose & Mitchell Killeen beginning to move away from the pursuing pack.

Jamie Higgs unfortunately would be spun entering turn one on lap five as a number of cars took evasive action resulting in Higgs taking no further past as he took his Baldivis Bulk Haulage backed entry to the pit area.

The final sixteen laps would go green to chequer without a stoppage and be a great exception of Speedway Sedan racing.

Blight withstood a number of challenges from Fraser & Rose as Killeen fell back through the field after climbing over the side of Rose in the front straight sending his Ford Falcon on a long detour before returning to the race track.

Fraser hit the front on lap thirteen after the three leaders at times raced three wide around the Kellerberrin layout.

Rose made the race winning move on the final corner when he took his Mitsubishi Sigma to the pole line entering turn three and successfully getting his nose in front when the chequered flag fell.

The margin of victory would be just 0.207 of a second with Jake Blight a galant third.

Esperance driver Josh Stewart bounced back from a tough start to the day to come home a distant fourth from Ellenbrook trio Travis Castagna, Wayne Leviston & Ethan Cooper.

Barry Rose has now won his home club’s major blue ribbon for SSA Production Sedans on six occasions as he look to wrap up a ninth Four Crowns Series title in 2021.

The final round of the 2021 Natrad SSD Four Crowns Series is scheduled to be held next Sunday at the Allwest Plant Hire Ellenbrook Speedway in conjunction with the RDA Production Sedan Classic.

Official Result of the 2021 PTQCC Production Sedan Championship

A Main, Twenty Laps- 1. W181 Barry Rose, 2. W5 Josh Fraser, 3. W61 Jake Blight, 4. W19 Josh Stewart, 5. W49 Travis Castagna, 6. W86 Wayne Leviston, 7. W31 Ethan Cooper, 8. W425 Gareth Jacobson, 9. W37 Jacob Winterswyk, 10. W72 Jeff Dickerson, 11. W92 Ricky Williams, 12. W33 Reece Parton (19), 13. W4 Mitchell Killeen (19), 14. W66 Possum Lawrence (19), 15. W522 Brayden Hobbs (18), DNF W78 Jacky Moroney (14), W7 Tylar Main (7), W84 Jamie Higgs (4), W75 Chris Porter (3), W51 Cody Blight (1), W17 Craig Lenane (0)