by | Dec 11, 2023 | SSA Junior Sedans, VIC

Official Release Sunday 10th December 2023.

River Paterson has become the new Victorian Junior Sedan Champion after claiming victory last night at the Swan Hill Speedway in Northern Victoria.

Paterson got the better of the battle between himself and fellow Alexandra club member Bree Simpson to take out his first State Title victory after contesting events around the country the last few seasons.

Nearly thirty SSA Junior Sedans contested the first state title of the season for Speedway Sedans Victoria.

Simpson and Queenslander Jayden Hancock shared the front row for the main event with Hancock leading the first four circulations.

Will Fallon would unfortunately invert his Hyundai Excel on lap seven shortly after Simpson had hit the lead.

After the restart a great four car battle began for supremacy as Simpson, Hancock, Paterson and New South Wales Champion Jaiden Santin raced two and three wide at times.

Simpson and Paterson pulled away from the two interstaters with ten laps remaining as the pair of Mitsubishi Lancers battled for the State Title.

Paterson looked to have the race won with three laps to run before Mildura’s Ryan Burns rolled in two turn and was unharmed in the incident.

A three lap run to the flag was setup as Paterson held off Simpson and Hancock before the yellow lights came on for Tasmanian Emilie Williams who came to a stop on the final lap.

Paterson would hold his nerve during the final two laps to take his maiden Victorian State Title from Simpson with Santin stealing third on the final lap from Hancock.

All placegetters were delighted with their placings with credit to Speedway Sedans Victoria and the Swan Hill Speedway for a great event.

Official Result of the 2023/2024 SSA Junior Sedan Victorian State Title

A Main, 25 Laps- 1. AX47 River Paterson, 2. AX10 Bree Simpson, 3. N1 Jaiden Santin, 4. C2 Jayden Hancock, 5. Q19 Jackson Kunny, 6. AV14 Jake Bradley, 7. S8 Pary Das, 8. N36 Indi Butcher, 9. NY25 Cruz Farrell, 10. WNG28 Zack Erickson, 11. AX23 Tamika Simpson, 12. AV23 James Peacock (24), 13. NY9 Tyson Heaphy (24), T25 Emilie Williams (23) DNF MDA12 Ryan Burns (21), S9 Max Leersen (11), MDA32 Diesel Fallon (7), AX77 Will Fallon (7), C18 Miller Throckmorton (7), NY5 Matilda Farrell (2).