Riley Wins A Close One At Latrobe

by | Nov 13, 2017 | Latest News, Results

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Ben Riley remains undefeated this season at the Gulf Western and Independent Oils Raceway, Latrobe, when he won his second consecutive Feature race at the venue on Saturday night.

Riley, along with Craig Weaver, Troy Russell and Corey Bauld would win the four qualifying heats, which would then see Bauld and Russell start on the front row, with Riley and Weaver on row two.

Troy Russell, after winning the Feature Race the previous week at Carrick, lasted less than a lap, allowing Corey Bauld to lead from Riley and Weaver.

Dale Riley Jnr after starting from position eight, moved to third at the half way mark, deposing Weaver who dropped to fourth. Weaver would retire soon after, elevating Steven Harvey to fourth. The race was turned on its head with five laps remaining when Corey Bauld retired from the race, giving the lead to Ben Riley.

Riley was already engaged in an excellent battle with Riley Jnr, with the duo fighting for the lead until the chequered flag with Ben Riley winning by a car length. Steven Harvey would finish further back in third, while Daniel Cunningham and Nick Anderson who finished fourth and fifth respectively were also the last drivers on the lead lap, with the race going the full distance without a stoppage.


:: Street Stock

Heat 1, 10 Laps: 1. T18 Craig Weaver, 2. T5 Troy Russell, 3. T4 Steven Harvey, 4. T63 Shaun Burgess, 5. T15 Daniel Cunningham, 6. T19 Brian Morice, 7. T32 Terri Farrell (9 laps), 8. T39 Shaun Atkinson (2). Time: 3.02.944, Winning Margin: 0.425, Fastest Lap: 17.816 T5 Troy Russell

Heat 2, 10 Laps: 1. T77 Corey Bauld, 2. T24 Ben Riley, 3. T2 Jarrod Rogers, 4. T13 Jeremy Green, 5. T66 Nick Anderson, 6. T28 Dale Riley Jnr (8 laps), 7. T85 Brett Henri (7), 8. T78 Matt Crawford (4). Time: 3.02.729, Winning Margin: 1.587, Fastest Lap: 18.000 T24 Ben Riley

Heat 3, 10 Laps: 1. T5 Troy Russell, 2. T18 Craig Weaver, 3. T4 Steven Harvey, 4. T15 Daniel Cunningham, 5. T19 Brian Morice, 6. T32 Terri Farrell (9 laps). DNF: 7. T63 Shaun Burgess (7), 8. T39 Shaun Atkinson (2). Time: 2.54.306, Winning Margin: 6.297, Fastest Lap: 17.177 T5 Troy Russell

Heat 4, 10 Laps: 1. T24 Ben Riley, 2. T77 Corey Bauld, 3. T2 Jarrod Rogers, 4. T28 Dale Riley Jnr, 5. T25 Damien Hall, 6. T66 Nick Anderson. Time: 2.57.619, Winning Margin: 1.739, Fastest Lap: 17.448 T77 Corey Bauld.

A Main, 20 Laps: 1. T24 Ben Riley, 2. T28 Dale Riley Jnr, 3. T4 Steven Harvey, 4. T15 Daniel Cunningham, 5. T66 Nick Anderson, 6. T19 Brian Morice (19 laps), 7. T32 Terri Farrell (19). DNF: 8. T77 Corey Bauld (16), 9. T18 Craig Weaver (14), 10. T25 Damien Hall (14), 11. T2 Jarrod Rogers (2), 12. T5 Troy Russell (1). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.407, Fastest Lap: 17.248 T77 Corey Bauld

Ben Riley wins again at Latrobe. Photo courtesy of Angryman Photography.