by | Jun 5, 2022 | SSA Production Sedans, WA

Official Release- Saturday 5th June 2022

Two Time Victorian Production Sedan Champion Beau Riley leads the point score after the opening night of the 2022 Karratha Machinery SSA Production Sedan Western Australian State Title that is being held at the Nickol Bay Speedway in Karratha this weekend.

Riley had a solid opening night recording two heat race wins with local favourite Jack McAuley and Busselton’s Kyle Sayer all showing great form throughout the evening.

Forty eight competitors began the last state title for the season in Western Australia before one of the biggest crowds ever seen at the Nickol Bay Speedway.

Proceedings began with Bernie Matkovich being awarded the Ian Beard Best Presented Car Award for the event.

Newman’s Daniel Flavel took the lead in the early laps of the opening heat race of fifteen on the program for night one before running wide and handing the lead to defending champion Drew Ogle.

Ogle held off the fast finishing Jack McAuley who came from position nine to be second by race end.

Beau Riley got his campaign off to a great start when he drove around the outside of the field to hit the lead and take the thirty six points from McDiarmid & Rob Fraser.

Geraldton’s Benny Curtin lead all the way in heat three to defeat Kyle Sayer by over five seconds as Collie’s Cody Avins held off 2018 WA Champion Barry Rose for third place.

It was more of the same in heat four as the Western Regional Towing Holden Commodore of Ashley Baker won by nearly seven seconds from Broome’s Jhye Kent & 2018 WA Street Stock Champion Hayden Norman.

The final heat race of the opening round witnessed a titanic struggle between Nickol Bay Speedway club life member Lindsay McAuley & Moora’s Jayden McCuish.

McCuish tried everything in vein to find a way past the ODH Mechanical Holden Commodore of McAuley as the pair raced wheel to wheel for the ten laps.

McAuley narrowly prevailed from McCuish as Derby’s Rowan Drysdale rounded out the top three.

Heat Six was the domain of Daniel Flavel as he defeated Jordan McGinnis & Ashley Baker after a great battle throughout the race.

A nasty multi car pile up on the opening lap of heat seven claimed Paul Joss from the race with Sam McAuley also collected with him suffering steering damage in his older model Holden Commodore.

Hometown hero Jack McAuley collected the win with just six cars going the distance in heat seven.

Kyle Sayer continued to mount a case for a maiden state title victory in heat eight winning by over seven seconds ahead of Morawa’s Peter Katona Snr & Tylar Main.

The first talking point of the evening occurred after the completion of heat nine as Barry Rose crossed the line ahead of Peter Katona Jnr & Benny Curtin.

Curtin would be officially declared the winner of the race after Rose was disqualified for failing to go to post race scrutineering with Katona Jnr relegated back to third place for jumping the start.

Hayden Norman drove a clever race in heat ten as held off Lindsay McAuley & Jhye Kent in an entertaining ten laps around the Pilbara venue.

A nasty spill for Shark Bay’s Ryan Allan kicked off the third and final round of racing on night one with significant damaged suffered by Allan’s Holden Commodore.

Kane McDiarmid drove around the outside of the field to hit the lead and then have the KMAC Racing Holden Commodore on rails to take the win.

Heat Twelve witnessed a two car battle at the front of the field between Collie competitors Jamie Graham and Beau Riley.

Riley would hit the front within sight of the finish after Graham was baulked by a lap car in a thrilling end to the race.

Derby’s Jake Hoath drove one of the races of his life to hold off Western Australian Champion Drew Ogle & Kyle Sayer in heat thirteen.

Current Western Australian Modified Sedan Champion Jason Batchelor took his Ford Falcon to the outside of the racetrack in heat fourteen to take the lead early.

Batchelor then had to withstand the advances of Tylar Main & Jack McAuley who came from position eight to be third by race end.

2020 SSA National Junior Sedan Champion Mitchell Baker registered his first heat of the State Title in heat fifteen as Josh Fraser narrowly held off Barry Rose for second place at the end of the ten laps.

One more round of racing heat racing awaits competitors ahead of twin twenty lap B Mains before the forty lap A Main to decide the 2022 SSA Production Sedan WA State Champion.

A PPV live stream of the final night is available at the Ash Media Facebook page.

The Overnight Point Score in the 2022 SSA Production Sedan WA State Title

1. W40 Beau Riley 89

2. W96 Jack McAuley 87

3. W95 Kyle Sayer 87

4. W99 Benny Curtin 85

5. W58 Jayden McCuish 84

6. WA6 Hayden Norman 82

7. W5 Lindsay McAuley 81

8. WA1 Drew Ogle 81

9. WA5 Josh Fraser 79

10. W31 Kane McDiarmid 77

11. W11 Ashley Baker 76

12. W29 Jake Hoath 72

13. W114 Daniel Flavel 63

14. W7 Tylar Main 59

15. WA74 Jhye Kent 59

16. W9 Mitchell Baker 54

17. W28 Jason Batchelor 52

18. W16 Peter Katona Jnr 49

19. WX11 Cody Avins 49

20. W6 Peter Katona Snr 48

21. W32 Jordan McGinnis 47

22. W211 Rowan Drysdale 46

23. W3 Rob Fraser 46

24. W22 Jamie Graham 43

25. W181 Barry Rose 40

26. W44 Bronty Humphrys 40

27. W26 Robbie Trenaman 37

28. W74 Bernie Matkovich 36

29. W14 Anthony Page 33

30. W25 Dwayne Meagher 33

31. 72W Jeff Dickerson 31

32. WA11 Josh Macalpine 31

33. W36 Sam McAuley 29

34. WA7 Prue Plowright 29

35. W12 Ryan Allan 28

36. W2 Ian Lester 27

37. W30 Jamie Harris 22

38. W77 Possum Lawrence 22

39. W17 Craig Lenane 21

40. W8 Paul Joss 20

41. W72 Daniel Oreo 19

42. WA72 Dylan McLaughlin 18

43. W24 Dean Davidson 17

44. WX72 Fish Telenta 17

45. W89 Ken Melvin 11

46. W172 Jim McGorman 11

47. W15 Paul Squires 4

48. W202 Michael Roberts 0