Riley Jnr Wins Round Four

by | Nov 20, 2018 | Latest News

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Dale Riley Jnr has won the fourth round of the Banjos Bakery Street Stock Series, at the Solo Hobart Speedway, taking the lead late in the twenty lap A Main, which had three different leaders.

After a crash fest in the last Feature race at the venue, the twenty lap A Main on Saturday night went flag to flag, with Corey Bauld and Ben Riley starting on the front row, with Brendan Green and Steven Harvey on the second row.

Ben Riley would take the early lead from Bauld, while Green would be in third, but alas, after four laps, Green would be the first of just three retirees. He would be joined by 2017 State Champion, Luke Williams, who also lasted just four laps.

Dale Riley Jnr started to make his presence felt, moving to third, just behind Riley and Bauld. Meanwhile, Steve Russell who started from position nine, very quickly found himself in fourth place in a closely run race out in front.

Bauld took the lead from Riley on lap ten, with Riley finding himself back in third a lap later, as Riley Jnr moved to second, completing his ascension to the lead on lap sixteen.

The duo drove away from the opposition in the closing laps, with Riley Jnr winning by a car length. Ben Riley, Steve Russell and Nathan Russell who rounded out the top five, were almost half a lap behind at the chequered flag.

Earlier, Bauld, Matt Hammond, Riley Jnr and Brendon Green would win the four qualifying heats, with all four having comfortable victories.

Round five of the series will be held at Latrobe on Saturday, 1 December 2018.

:: Street Stock, Banjos Bakery Series Round 4

Heat 1, 10 Laps: 1. T77 Corey Bauld, 2. T24 Ben Riley, 3. T4 Steven Harvey, 4. T92 Steve Russell, 5. T28 Dale Riley Jnr, 6. T72 Steven Pyne, 7. T61 Jarrod Beasley, 8. T44 John Riley, 9. T34 Ian McGuiness, 10. T8 Charlie Ivory, 11. T55 Nick Anderson, 12. T35 Matthew Atkinson (4 laps). Time: 3.02.660, Winning Margin: 2.480, Fastest Lap: 17.993 T77 Corey Bauld

Heat 2, 10 Laps: 1. T11 Matt Hammond, 2. T7 Corey Jetson, 3. T110 Terry Hammond, 4. T46 Brendon Green, 5. T57 Brad Thompson, 6. T78 Matt Crawford, 7. T9 Luke Williams, 8. T45 Gregory Smith, 9. T98 David Summers, 10. T69 Steven Maine, 11. T6 Bec Hammond (9 laps), 12. T23 Nathan Russell (0). Time: 3.04.451, Winning Margin: 2.624, Fastest Lap: 17.897 T11 Matt Hammond

Heat 3, 10 Laps: 1. T28 Dale Riley Jnr, 2. T24 Ben Riley, 3. T77 Corey Bauld, 4. T35 Matthew Atkinson, 5. T72 Steven Pyne, 6. T7 Corey Jetson, 7. T45 Gregory Smith, 8. T6 Bec Hammond (9 laps), 9. T11 Matt Hammond (8), 10. T61 Jarrod Beasley (4). Time: 3.04.647, Winning Margin: 2.134, Fastest Lap: 17.795 T28 Dale Riley Jnr

Heat 4, 10 Laps: 1. T46 Brendon Green, 2. T4 Steven Harvey, 3. T9 Luke Williams, 4. T55 Nick Anderson, 5. T78 Matt Crawford, 6. T23 Nathan Russell, 7. T92 Steve Russell, 8. T110 Terry Hammond, 9. T57 Brad Thompson, 10. T69 Steven Maine, 11. T98 David Summers (9 laps), 12. T34 Ian McGuiness (4). Time: 3.08.863, Winning Margin: 2.318, Fastest Lap: 18.103 T9 Luke Williams

A Main, 20 Laps: 1. T28 Dale Riley Jnr, 2. T77 Corey Bauld, 3. T24 Ben Riley, 4. T92 Steve Russell, 5. T23 Nathan Russell, 6. T7 Corey Jetson, 7. T4 Steven Harvey, 8. T35 Matthew Atkinson, 9. T110 Terry Hammond, 10. T72 Steven Pyne, 11. T61 Jarrod Beasley (19), 12. T55 Nick Anderson (19), 13. T57 Brad Thompson (19), 14. T69 Steven Maine (19), 15. T98 David Summers (18), 16. T45 Gregory Smith (18), 17. T6 Bec Hammond (18), 18. T78 Matt Crawford (10), 19. T9 Luke Williams (4), 20. T46 Brendon Green (4). Time: 6.15.424, Winning Margin: 1.011, Fastest Lap: 18.231 T28 Dale Riley Jnr

Photo courtesy of Angryman Photography