Riley Jnr Takes Round Five

by | Dec 10, 2018 | Latest News


Speedway Sedans Australia News

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Round five of the Banjos Bakery Street Stock Series saw another win for Dale Riley Jnr on Saturday night at the Gulf Western Oil Speedway, Latrobe, before a big crowd.

A big field entered for fifth round with five highly competitive heats conducted with Steven Harvey winning by a mere 0.050 to win the opening heat, before Riley Jnr won heat two by a car length over Troy Russell. Heat three would see a spectacular rollover in the main straight, ending the night for Brett Henri, with Corey Bauld going on to win the heat. Riley Jnr would win heat four by less than a car length over Luke Williams, with Terry Hammond winning the final heat by two car lengths over John Riley.

Dale Riley Jnr and Corey Bauld would start on the front row for the 20 Lap A Main, with Luke Williams and Steven Harvey starting on row two.

Riley Jnr took the lead from the outset, with Bauld, Harvey, Williams and Hammond chasing hard through the opening laps.

Harvey moved to second after two laps demoting Bauld to third, while several drivers failed to see out the first half of the race including John Riley and Troy Russell.

Bauld fought back, taking second place again on lap six, with Williams moving back to third in a race of ever changing positions.

The leaders hit lapped traffic, with the top five separated by less than two seconds as Williams again took second place, before taking the lead off of Dale Riley Jnr with just two laps to go as the duo raced door handle to door handle. His time in the lead was fleeting, with Riley Jnr fighting back to record a good win, narrowly defeating Bauld, Harvey and Ben Riley in a great finish.

:: Street Stock, Banjos Bakery Series Round 5
Heat 1, 10 Laps: 1. T4 Steven Harvey, 2. T77 Corey Bauld, 3. T33 Brad Farrell, 4. T72 Steven Pye, 5. T15 Daniel Cunningham, 6. T24 Ben Riley, 7. T52 Kurt Chilcott, 8. T86 Colin Kenny, 9. T40 Tim Pike, 10. T32 Terri Farrell (9), 11. T31 Ross Garth (9), 12. T34 Ian McGuinness (7). Time: 3.00.568, Winning Margin: 0.050, Fastest Lap: 17.761 T4 Steven Harvey

Heat 2, 10 Laps: 1. T28 Dale Riley Jnr, 2. T5 Troy Russell, 3. T9 Luke Williams, 4. T7 Corey Jetson, 5. T110 Terry Hammond, 6. T55 Nick Anderson, 7. T98 David Summers, 8. T6 Bec Hammond (9 laps), 9. T71 Brodie Poole (9), 10. T44 John Riley (6), 11. T97 Brock Inches (5), 12. T65 Trent Austin (4). Time: 2.58.061, Winning Margin: 0.343, Fastest Lap: 17.332 T5 Troy Russell

Heat 3, 10 Laps: 1. T77 Corey Bauld, 2. T4 Steven Harvey, 3. T33 Brad Farrell, 4. T11 Matt Hammond, 5. T8 Charlie Ivory, 6. T40 Tim Pike, 7. T58 Warrick Lee, 8. T31 Ross Garth (9 laps), 9. T71 Brodie Poole (9), 10. T2 Jarrod Rogers (5), 11. T85 Brett Henri (1), 12. T78 Matt Crawford (1). Time: 2.55.465, Winning Margin: 2.028, Fastest Lap: 17.097 T77 Corey Bauld

Heat 4, 10 Laps: 1. T28 Dale Riley Jnr, 2. T9 Luke Williams, 3. T24 Ben Riley, 4. T5 Troy Russell, 5. T15 Daniel Cunningham, 6. T7 Corey Jetson, 7. T72 Steven Pyne, 8. T52 Kurt Chilcott, 9. T32 Terri Farrell, 10. T98 David Summers, 11. T86 Colin Kenny. Time: 2.59.614, Winning Margin: 0.240, Fastest Lap: 17.274 T5 Troy Russell

Heat 5, 10 Laps: 1. T110 Terry Hammond, 2. T44 John Riley, 3. T2 Jarrod Rogers, 4. T65 Trent Austin, 5. T78 Matt Crawford, 6. T11 Matt Hammond, 7. T55 Nick Anderson, 8. T8 Charlie Ivory, 9. T58 Warrick Lee, 10. T6 Bec Hammond (9 laps), 11. T97 Brock Inches (3). Time: 3.01.393, Winning Margin: 0.509, Fastest Lap: 17.691 T2 Jarrod Rogers

A Main, 20 Laps: 1. T28 Dale Riley Jnr, 2. T77 Corey Bauld, 3. T4 Steven Harvey, 4. T24 Ben Riley, 5. T7 Corey Jetson, 6. T33 Brad Farrell, 7. T9 Luke Williams, 8. T2 Jarrod Rogers, 9. T110 Terry Hammond, 10. T72 Steven Pye, 11. T55 Nick Anderson, 12. T72 Kurt Chilcott (19 laps), 13. T8 Charlie Ivory (18), 14. T40 Tim Pike (17). DNF: 15. T15 Daniel Cunningham (16), 16. T78 Matt Crawford (11), 17. T5 Troy Russell (6), 18. T58 Warrick Lee (3), 19. T44 John Riley (1), 20. T11 Matt Hammond (0). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.887, Fastest Lap: 17.042 T28 Dale Riley Jnr

Picture courtesy of Angryman Photography, Dale Riley Jnr and Luke Williams running side by side in the A Main