by | Jun 19, 2022 | QLD, SSA Junior Sedans

Images by Speedway Sedans Queensland

Gympie’s Aidan Rigby has become the first driver in the seventeen year history of the Queensland State Title for Junior Sedans to claim back to back wins in the event after scoring victory last night at the Fraser Shores Maryborough Speedway.

Rigby crossed the line 0.540 of a second ahead of Bundaberg’s Billy Macdonald with the always popular Kurtis Peall coming home in third place at the end of the twenty five main event.

Forty Eight Junior Sedans were on hand the rescheduled running of the 2022 SSA Junior Sedan Queensland State Title with four states represented in the field.

South Australian & New South Wales champion Aaron Tranter went through the heat race competition undefeated in his Daihatsu Charade as he shared the front row with the Mitsubishi Mirage of Kaine Richters who finished second in the corresponding event in 2021 at Roma.

Tranter got the initial jump on the field from Richters & Billy Macdonald who moved into third place on the opening lap.

It wouldn’t be long before Macdonald took second place from Richters as the top ten battled for supremacy in the opening laps.

Disaster struck the race leader Tranter on lap ten when he was forced into the wall by a lap car ending the race of the driver from just outside of Adelaide.

Rockhampton’s Liam Cameron was also out of the race at the same time as Tranter with suspension damage to his Charade.

The race resumed with Macdonald in the lead from Kurtis Peall and Aidan Rigby who had moved from position nine into third inside the opening ten laps.

Peall began to pressure the leader into a mistake as Rigby stayed in touch as the three pulled clear of the battle for fourth place between Jayden Hancock, Kaine Richters and Brodie Hollyman.

The final laps proved to be an exciting run to the chequered flag as Rigby found a way past Peall for second on lap twenty two before making the winning pass on Macdonald as they raced down the back straight for the second last time.

Rigby might have left it to the last minute to take the victory but he was a popular winner as he defeated Macdonald and Peall in a blanket finish to the race.

The Gympie local became just the third driver after Ardie Jonic & Casey Collins to win the Queensland State Title on multiple occasions and first to successfully defend the title.

Hancock would hold off Richters for fourth with Hollyman, AJ Macdonald, Mitchell Wogandt, Victorian Breanna Simpson and Mitchell Bayfield rounding out the top ten.

The 2023 SSA Junior Sedan Queensland State Title will be held at the Corbet’s Group Gympie Speedway with a date to be announced shortly.

The Final Point Score in the 2022 SSA Junior Sedan Queensland State Title

1. S45 Aaron Tranter 108

2. BB32 Kaine Richters 100

3. M7 Jayden Hancock 92

4. BB11 Kurtis Peall 81

5. BB2 Billy Macdonald 81

6. RK22 Liam Cameron 74

7. B23 Harry Fowler 72

8. G28 Aidan Rigby 69

9. C12 Brodie Hollyman 69

10. V10 Breanna Simpson 65

11. BB17 AJ Macdonald 63

12. SC27 Cooper Flynn 59

13. V12 Nathan Miles 57

14. M18 Mitchell Bayfield 53

15. RK41 Braith Thomas 53

16. BB23 Jack Vuichoud 51

17. V23 Tamika Simpson 51

18. V21 Harry Cecil 50

19. G21 Hayley Spence 50

20. C58 Hayden Stewart 49

21. SC33 Josh Ciesiolka 48

22. G19 Jackson Kunny 46

23. M17 Cooper Reid 46

24. N36 Indi Butcher 44

25. BB81 Mitchell Wogandt 44

26. CN10 Bailey Chandler 44

27. G3 William Pagel 41

28. MK36 Sophie Montgomerie 40

29. G8 Braydon Steffens 37

30. RK43 Reilly Storer 37

31. G51 Khan Thoroughgood 34

32. CR22 Ben Frasle 33

33. C7 Riley Killick 33

34. V19 Kiarna Barton 33

35. M21 Ella Duthie 33

36. M6 Aidan Barsby 32

37. BB25 Abby Smith 32

38. N24 Jorja Woolfe 27

39. M7 Riley Hutchison 26

40. MK27 Jack Menzies 24

41. N21 Aida Miller 24

42. RK4 Braydon Storer 24

43. CR7 Em Whell 19

44. BB10 Abbey Peall 19

45. M11 Chayse Polzin 16

46. BB7 Coen Herwig 13

47. SC3 Chloe Lebeter 10

48. N17 Jaiden Santin 6

B Main One, 15 Laps- 1. V23 Tamika Simpson, 2. BB81 Mitchell Wogandt, 3. M17 Cooper Reid, 4. G21 Hayley Spence, 5. C7 Riley Killick, 6. M21 Ella Duthie, 7. BB25 Abby Smith, 8. N21 Aida Miller, 9. M71 Riley Hutchison, 10. M11 Chayse Polzin, 11. SC3 Chloe Lebeter (14), DNF G51 Khan Thoroughgood (11), SC33 Josh Ciesiolka (9), G3 William Pagel (9).

B Main Two, 15 Laps- 1. V21 Harry Cecil, 2. N36 Indi Butcher, 3. G19 Jackson Kunny, 4. C58 Hayden Stewart, 5. V19 Kiarna Barton, 6. MK27 Jack Menzies, 7. MK36 Sophie Montgomerie, 8. CR22 Ben Frasle, 9. RK43 Reilly Storer, 10. BB10 Abbey Peall, 11. N24 Jorja Woolfe, 12. M6 Aidan Barsby, 13. CN10 Bailey Chandler, 14. BB7 Coen Herwig (14).

A Main, 25 Laps- 1. G28 Aidan Rigby, 2. BB2 Billy Macdonald, 3. BB11 Kurtis Peall, 4. M7 Jayden Hancock, 5. BB32 Kaine Richters, 6. C12 Brodie Hollyman, 7. BB17 AJ Macdonald, 8. BB81 Mitchell Wogandt, 9. V10 Breanna Simpson, 10. M18 Mitchell Bayfield, 11. V12 Nathan Miles, 12. RK41 Braith Thomas, 13. M17 Cooper Reid, 14. BB23 Jack Vuichoud, 15. V21 Harry Cecil, 16. SC27 Cooper Flynn, 17. V1 Kiarna Barton, 18. G19 Jackson Kunny (24), DNF N36 Indi Butcher (21), B23 Harry Fowler (19), G21 Hayley Spence (19), S45 Aaron Tranter (10), RK22 Liam Cameron (10), V23 Tamika Simpson (10), Winning Margin 0.540, Quick Time BB2 Billy Macdonald 16.668.