Rhys Heinrich Win NSW Street Stock Title

by | Feb 17, 2019 | Latest News, Results

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Despite having won a National Title and having finished second on four occasions in Street Stock State Titles, Rhys Heinrich had never won a State Title until last night, when he won the NSW Street Stock Title at the Broken Hill Speedway.

Heinrich would start on the front row for the main event with Darren Brumfield from the Northern Territory, while Sam Brumfield and Steven Gartner would start on row two.

Heinrich got the best of the start but lost the lead to Darren Brumfield on lap two, only to regain it again on lap four. Behind the lead pair, Gartner had moved to third ahead of Sam Brumfield, while Jayden Edwards was also moving forward, taking fifth place.

On lap ten, Edwards moved to fourth as Gartner moved to second at the expense of Darren Brumfield as the race started to intensify.

Soon after Steven Gartner would be one of four retirees for the race, as Edwards continued his elevation through the field moving to third just after the half way mark of the thirty lap event.

Meanwhile, Bailey Heinrich, who started on the fifth row was also starting to make his presence felt, passing Jason Duell to take fourth place with eleven laps remaining. A lap later he passed Darren Brumfield to take third place.

Rhys Heinrich had opened a handy buffer over the remainder of the field and went on to claim his maiden State Title victory. Jayden Edwards finished second and Bailey Heinrich third, though officials relegated Bailey Heinrich after the race for an incident in the second half of the race, which elevated Jason Duell to third and Darren Brumfield to fourth.

Twelve of the thirteen cars that finished were on the lead lap, with two flat tyres and mechanical issues forcing Sam Brumfield, Steven Gartner, Todd Rose and Shane Roycroft from the event between laps twelve and sixteen.

A Main, 30 Laps: 1. N11 Rhys Heinrich, 2. S87 Jayden Edwards, 3. S18 Jason Duell, 4. NT5 Darren Brumfield, 5. S86 Bailey Heinrich (rel), 6. S17 Carey Weston, 7. S58 Neville Nitschke, 8. V26 Daniel Drewett, 9. N53 Kasey Staker, 10. ACT3 Colin Peadon, 11. S27 Cade Cox, 12. Q99 Peter Thompson, 13. V12 Jamie Collins (27 laps). DNF: 14. NT15 Sam Brumfield (16), 15. S32 Steven Gartner (15), 16. V21 Todd Rose (14), 17. V82 Shane Roycoft ((12). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 2.032, Fastest Lap: 18.799 N11 Rhys Heinrich