Raymont Defends At Hamilton

by | Apr 8, 2018 | Latest News, Results

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Queenslander, Aidan Raymont, has successfully defended his Victorian Modified Sedan Title at the Western Speedway, Hamilton on Saturday night.

The thirty five lap final was highly entertaining with several different leaders early, with Nick Cockerill and Russell Bent starting on the front row, with Cockerill the early leader.

Raymont immediately moved to second as Bent dropped to fifth in the early stages, with Kye Walters quickly making his presence felt, moving from sixth to the lead on lap four.

Walters would lead narrowly over Raymont, Cockerill, Bent and Graham West, before Raymont made his move taking the lead on lap ten.

Ultimately that would be the winning move, as Raymont held a small advantage over Walters and Bent. Meanwhile, Andrew Blackwell had made steady progress from position ten to move to fourth.

Within striking distance in the concluding stages, Kye Walters would pull infield after blowing up the gear box, leaving Raymont with a handy lead on the final lap, defeating Nick Cockerill who had to hold off Blackwell on the final lap. Peter Gray, Graham West and Wade McCarthy would round out the top six.

For Raymont, it his sixth State Title victory, to go with his 2013 National Title victory.

A Main, 35 Laps: 1. Q28 Aidan Raymont, 2. V71 Nick Cockerill, 3. V17 Andrew Blackwell, 4. Q78 Peter Gray, 5. V56 Graham West, 6. V6 Wade McCarthy, 7. V14 Matt Gerlach, 8. T132 Jake Taurian, 9. V36 Kellie Atkins (34 laps), 10. V46 Kye Wlaters (34), 11. V13 Russell Bent (26), 12. V32 Brody Chrystie (26), 13. V21 Brad Warren (25), 14. V7 Justin Drew (22), 15. V33 Daniel Simpson (16), 16. V5 Robbie Faux (5), 17. V25 Nick Hill (4), 18. V16 Russell Felsovary (2), 19. V41 Brad Hutchinson (2), 20. V61 Matt Nelson (1). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 3.361, Fastest Lap: 17.237 V46 Kye Walters