Raymont & Clarke Claim Prelim Features

by | Dec 29, 2019 | QLD, SSA Modified Sedans


Speedway Sedans Australia News

Author : Allan Smallwood SSA Media

Modified Sedans made a brilliant return to Valvoline Raceway in Sydney last night for the 2019/2020 SSNSW Modified Sedan State Title that is doubling as the Sydney City Slam.

Eight Heat Races were contested across the evening in front of a big holiday season crowd with the night rounded out by two fifteen lap preliminary feature races.

Aidan Raymont was challenged at times by Cam Waters and Matt Nelson in the Odd Feature Race with Waters race ending with three laps to go while in a podium position.

National Champion Kye Walters worked the top side of the Valvoline Raceway to finish second with Matt Nelson wheeling his new Ford Falcon to third.

The Even Feature Race for the Modified Sedans was absolutely brilliant with Northern New South Wales based Max Clarke motoring into the lead past former National Champion David Smith with two laps remaining.

Victorian young guns Brody Chrystie & Todd Atkins were battling with David Smith for the lead earlier in the race when the two came together.

Chrystie and Atkins were both sent to the tail of the field for the restart with Jake Drewett driving a solid race to finish third.
The final night of the 2019/2020 NSW Modified Sedan Title will be held on Monday 30th December 2019.


Odd Feature Race, Fifteen Laps: 1. Q28 Aidan Raymont, 2. A1 Kye Walters, 3. V61 Matt Nelson, 4. V7 Justin Drew, 5. Q59 Darran Lester, 6. Q24 David Head, 7. AV11 Jeff Leahy, 8. SA1 Peter McCarthy, 9. V17 Brad Wicks, 10. Q3 Allan Nash, 11. N10 Trevor Mills, 12. V37 Andrew Dike, 13. Q111 Peter White, 14. V45 Calvin Watts, 15. N45 Brad Wise (14), 16. N24 Gerry Flood (14), DNF V16 Cameron Waters, N7 Adam Lloyd

Even Feature Race, Fifteen Laps: 1. N15 Max Clarke, 2. V19 David Smith, 3. V18 Jake Drewett, 4. Q15 Tim Atkin, 5. Q54 Mick Shelford, 6. V14 Matt Gerlach, 7. V36 Todd Atkins, 8. ACT3 Greg Stevenson, 9. Q27 Shane MacDonald, 10. V32 Brody Chrystie, 11. V94 Rachel Pratt, 12. Q33 Kent Shelford, 13. V15 Ricky Cornwall, 14. V1 Daniel Simpson, 15. Q108 Alex Sweeney, 16. NX47 Daniel Patton, 17. N27 Robert Nelson (14), DNF Q1 Tim Weir, ACT75 Shane Murphy