Raymont Claims NSW Modified Sedan Title in Sydney

by | Dec 31, 2019 | NSW, SSA Modified Sedans


Speedway Sedans Australia News

Author : Allan Smallwood SSA Media

Queenslander Aidan Raymont has claimed the NSW Modified Sedan Championship after a torrid two-night affair where he narrowly defeated Milduras Dave Smith and Toowoombas Mick Shelford in the 30-lap final.

Smith seemed to be the car to beat early as he shot off to an early lead but Raymont began pegging him back in and then ripped the top side pass to open up his own advantage late in the race.

Smith wasnt done there however and with a late race caution he began to have one last crack at Raymonts claim for NSW title glory using the low-line to near lethal effect.

Raymont was committed to the cushion and pushed the Cooroy Auto Wreckers Q28 to the limit to hold on narrowly from Smith and Shelford.

Shelford was a revelation in the Commodore and nearly caused a boil over coming from position thirteen and almost took the lead until a late race caution stopped his run. Shelford third place was a fitting result also as he fought through a torrid battle pack including Justin Drew, Cameron Waters, Victorian champion Daniel Simpson and Toowoombas Shane MacDonald.

Avalon’s Justin Drew was a fine fourth place with Supercar racer Cam Waters rocking fourth with co-driver Michael Caruso as a surprise guest in the pit crew.

The racing was at times three and even sometimes four wide in the Modified Sedans and the teams seemed to enjoy their debut at VR as much as the fans appreciated the uncompromising action they put on.

2019/2020 NSW Modified Sedan State Title Official Result

30 Laps- 1. Q28 Aidan Raymont, 2. V19 David Smith, 3. Q54 Mick Shelford, 4. V7 Justin Drew, 5. V16 Cameron Waters, 6. V1 Daniel Simpson, 7. ACT3 Greg Stevenson, 8. Q27 Shane MacDonald, 9. Q15 Tim Atkin, 10. Q24 David Head, 11. V17 Brad Wicks, 12. Q33 Mick Shelford, 13. A1 Kye Walters, 14. ACT75 Shane Murphy, DNF V36 Todd Atkins (27), V18 Jake Drewett (15), V45 Calvin Watts (15), SA1 Peter McCarthy (13), V14 Matt Gerlach (13), V61 Matt Nelson (4), Brody Chrystie (2), AV11 Jeff Leahy (2), DNF N15 Max Clarke (1) DNS N7 Adam Lloyd

Photo of the Podium by Gary Reid