Raymont And Shelford Dominate A Mains

by | Oct 1, 2017 | Latest News, Results

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

Aidan Raymont and Michael Shelford dominated their respective Preliminary A Mains, on the opening night of the Modified Sedan Gold Rush, at the Corbets Group, Mothar Mountain Speedway Gympie.

After two stoppages on the opening lap, one of which led to the demise of Victorian Brock Atkins, Raymont was untroubled in the first fifteen lap A Main, leading from start to finish, opening a sizeable gap on the opposition.

Tim Atkin quickly moved from the third row into second place by lap four, but Raymont had already opened a handy gap on the opposition, while Mark Raymont finished third.

After and exciting three way battle for the lead in the opening exchanges with Kye Walters and Jamie OMeara, Michael Shelford took the lead on lap three and simply drove away from the opposition, winning emphatically by half a lap, in the second Preliminary A Main. Jamie OMeara finished second, while former National Champion, Brett Baxter was third.

�I think I can get it better, looking forward to tomorrow�, said current Victorian Champion, Aidan Raymont after his victory.

�If it goes slick tomorrow night, we will be in with a show�, said Michael Shelford after his dominating performance.

With points accumulating across the heats and the Preliminary A Mains, Raymont has a handy gap over the opposition heading into the second night of competition.

Racing continues on Sunday night from 5.00pm EST, with Live Audio also available via Speedway Sedans Australia�s website.

Preliminary A Main 1, 15 Laps: 1. V1 Aidan Raymont, 2. BB2 Tim Atkin, 3. G27 Mark Raymont, 4. CR27 Sean Black, 5. G97 Brad Yarrow, 6. SC30 Jason Dreaver, 7. CR24 David Head, 8. G8 Lee Steffens (9 laps), 9. M21 Kent Shelford (5), 10. V4 Brock Atkins (0). Time: 4.45.275, Winning Margin: 2.477, Fastest Lap: 18.432 V1 Aidan Raymont

Preliminary A Main 2, 15 Laps: 1. SB54 Michael Shelford, 2. G26 Jamie OMeara, 3. B42 Brett Baxter, 4. V36 Kellie Atkins, 5 C89 TJ Horne, 6. N36 David Jacobi, 7. G29 Jessica OMeara, 8. CR111 Peter White (9 laps), 9. V45 Kye Walters (4). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 8.338, Fastest Lap: 18.556 SB54 Michael Shelford

Michael Shelford won by half a lap in the second Preliminary A Main. Photos courtesy of Mr Click.