by | May 21, 2021 | QLD, SSA Super Sedans

Image by 44 Photography

This Saturday Night at the Corbet’s Group Mothar Speedway located in Gympie the forty seventh running of the SSA Super Sedan Queensland State Title will be fought out with thirty entries received for the highly anticipated event.

Some of the Australia’s best Super Sedan pilots will thunder around the mountain at one of the country’s most unique Speedway layouts which witness one of the best fields of Super Sedans ever assembled for a Queensland State Title.

Three Time National Champion Matt Pascoe will be chasing a remarkable fifth QLD State Title victory in succession and seventh overall at the venue he won the event at back in 2018.

Pascoe was near faultless in the main event for the GP53 last Saturday Night down in Brisbane charging from position eight to hit the lead in the early stages before winning by over eight seconds aboard the Sweet house car.

Mick Nicola Jr was the runner up to Pascoe at Archerfield and would love to add a third state title victory to his 2021 swag after claiming the South Australian & Victorian State Titles earlier in the year.

Four Time & current National Champion Darren Kane will compete in his final race meeting of an outstanding career with many sedan fans shocked by his sudden retirement from the sport.

“Kaney” has won the Queensland State Title on two previous occasions (2008 & 2014) and many plaudits would love to see him go out with a big win in Gympie.

Former Queensland Champions, Wayne Randall (1987, 1989, 2003, 2014) and Mick Nicola Sr (2013) bring a wealth of experience to the field with the duo very capable of victory.

Tasmanian pair Steve Latham & Callum Harper will be out to make the trip north worthwhile after disappointing finishes to the GP53 after both showed considerable pace, with the V34 Sweet of Jamie Collins hoping to continue his consistent run of late.

Lachlan Onley from Orange in New South Wales along with young guns Sean Black, Sam Roza & Zac Pascoe bring plenty of enthusiasm to the racetrack and are genuine chances to finish on the podium with Black the runner up in the last two Queensland State Titles.

Racing begins from 5pm this Saturday Night with SSA Junior Sedans, SSA Street Stocks, SSA Production Sedans & SSA National 4’s also on the program.

Live coverage of the event is available courtesy of the team from Ash Media for just $22.95.

The official entry list for the 2020/2021 SSA Super Sedan QLD State Title (30)

Q1 Matt Pascoe, Sweet

Q2 Craig Hammond, Rocket

V3 Mick Nicola, Kempy

BW4 Leigh Williams, Dominator

G5 Gary Pagel, Dominator

Q6 Craig Craft, Dominator

LV7 Colin Kaine, Sweet

Q7 Steve Jordan, Dominator

T8 Steve Latham, Rocket

SB12 David Musch, Sweet

Q15 Gavin Northfield, Dominator

Q17 Lachlan Onley, Sweet (NSW)

B18 Brad Pascoe, Sweet

C20 Nicholas O’Keefe, Sweet

T22 Callum Harper, Bandit

V23 Mick Nicola Jr, Sweet

Q26 Sean Black, Sweet

Q34 Wayne Randall, Dominator

V34 Jamie Collins, Sweet

Q36 Darren Kane, Dominator (A1)

GL39 Bob McCosker, Sweet

Q44 Trent Wilson, Sweet

Q47 Barry Craft, Dominator

N47 Tyson Moon, Sweet

B51 Zac Pascoe, Dominator

C77 Sam Roza, Sweet

SB84 Brendon Kelly, Dominator

C96 Josh McLaren, Sweet

C98 Michael Hally, OTR

N111 Hayden Brims, Rocket