Pascoe Too Good At Lismore

by | Jan 13, 2019 | Latest News

Author : Jason Crowe – SSA Media

The latest round of the Brims Concrete Super Sedan Series, supported by Tanias Ts ventured south of the Queensland border to Lismore on Saturday night.

Six qualifying heats were held, with Darren Anning having a good win in the opening heat, before Darren Kane won by almost half a lap in heat two. Matt Pascoe had a strong victory in heat three, before Ian Brims just held off Justin Randall and Tania Smith in heat four in a very close finish. The final two qualifying heats would be won by Matt Pascoe and Justin Randall winning the final heat in a thriller with just 0.403, separating Randall, Brims and Wayne Randall as the trio crossed the line together.

After winning his opening heat race, Darren Kane took no further part in the meeting, due to mechanical issues.

After the six heats, the top six qualifiers would be Matt Pascoe, Justin Randall, Tania Smith, Ian Brims, Wayne Randall and Darren Anning. After the marble draw, Ian Brims and Darren Anning would start on the front row for the 30 lap decider, while Matt Pascoe and Wayne Randall would start on row two, while Justin Randall and Tania Smith drew five and six respectively.

Ian Brims would get the best of the start, while Anning got the opposite, dropping to fourth on the opening lap. Brims hold of the lead would last a solitary lap, as Pascoe made the move, taking the lead on lap two.

Soon after Smith moved to third and was looking fast, taking second place on lap eight, with Justin Randall taking that position soon after, as the pair settled into a good battle for the minor placing behind Pascoe.

The race changed complexion on lap nineteen, with contact leaving several drivers on the infield including Smith with a flat tyre, with Ian Brims and Wayne Randall also parking on the grass.

The resultant re-start allowed Darren Anning to pass Justin Randall to move to second after being sixth before the stoppage. Pascoe cleared out to a commanding lead in the concluding stages, winning by more than half a lap, with Anning finishing clear of Justin Randall, who was the only other driver to finish on the lead lap. Fourth went to Tony Brinkmann, while David Mortimer and Ed Doherty would round out the top six, and be the only other finishes.

:: Super Sedans

Heat 1, 8 Laps: 1. N21 Darren Anning, 2. Q6 Wayne Randall, 3. Q15 Matt Pascoe, 4. Q39 Bob McCosker, 5. N29 Dion Bennett, 6. Q76 Ian Brims. Time: 1.59.692, Winning Margin: 1.659, Fastest Lap: 14.167 Q15 Matt Pascoe

Heat 2, 8 Laps: 1. Q36 Darren Kane, 2. N3 Tania Smith, 3. Q0 Justin Randall, 4. Q91 Ed Doherty, 5. N21 David Mortimer, 6. Q19 Tony Brinkmann (3 laps). Time: 1.55.608, Winning Margin: 6.878, Fastest Lap: 14.232 Q36 Darren Kane

Heat 3, 8 Laps: 1. Q15 Matt Pascoe, 2. Q39 Bob McCosker, 3. Q91 Ed Doherty, 4. Q19 Tony Brinkmann, 5. Q6 Wayne Randall (3 laps). Time: 1.57.671, Winning Margin: 3.247, Fastest Lap: 14.188 Q15 Matt Pascoe

Heat 4, 8 Laps: 1. Q76 Ian Brims, 2. Q0 Justin Randall, 3. N3 Tania Smith, 4. N21 Darren Anning, 5. N19 Dion Bennett, 6. N21 David Mortimer. Time: 2.03.766, Winning Margin: 0.162, Fastest Lap: 14.944, Q76 Ian Brims

Heat 5, 8 Laps: 1. Q15 Matt Pascoe, 2. N3 Tania Smith, 3. Q91 Ed Doherty, 4. N21 David Mortimer, 5. N21 Darren Anning (6 laps), 6. Q39 Bob McCosker (6). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 3.320, Fastest Lap: 14.071 Q15 Matt Pascoe

Heat 6, 8 Laps: 1. Q0 Justin Randall, 2. Q76 Ian Brims, 3. Q6 Wayne Randall, 4. Q19 Tony Brinkmann, 5. N19 Dion Bennett. Time: 2.03.131, Winning Margin; 0.062, Fastest Lap: 14.631 Q76 Ian Brims

Feature Race, 30 Laps: 1. Q15 Matt Pascoe, 2. N21 Darren Anning, 3. Q0 Justin Randall, 4. Q19 Tony Brinkman (29 laps), 5. N21 David Mortimer (29), 6. Q91 Ed Doherty (29). DNF: 7. N3 Tania Smith (19), 8. Q6 Wayne Randall (19), 9. Q76 Ian Brims (19), 10. N19 Dion Bennett (18), 11. Q39 Bob McCosker (3). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 7.783, Fastest Lap: 14.274 Q15 Matt Pascoe

Photo courtesy of 44Photography