by | Oct 16, 2023 | QLD, SSA Super Sedans

Press Release by Luke Nichols.

Queensland Champion Brad Pascoe has won the opening round of the McCosker Super Sedan Series and Ultimate Super Sedan Championship at Hi-Tec Oils Toowoomba Speedway.

A twenty four car field converged on the Toowoomba venue, and it would be young gun JJ Hamilton that took the win in the opening heat of the night.

Hamilton would greet the chequers almost three seconds clear of Hayden Brims in second, and Tyson Moon in third.

Michael Hally came out on top in heat two after a race long battle with Darren Kane. The top three would finish under a blanket, with Brad Pascoe just behind in third.

National Champion Trent Wilson took the victory in heat three ahead of Brisbane’s Sam Hughes in second, and Tasmanian Callum Harper in third.

Mitchell Gee dominated the final heat of the night, accounting for Zac Pascoe in second, and ‘The Joker’ Steve Jordan in third.

Hamilton led the pack home in the ‘Roll a Dice Dash’ and would roll a five, to invert the first five rows of the field, landing himself in the tenth starting spot for the thirty-lap main event.

After the invert Moon and Kane emerged on the front row, with Harry Doyle and Zac Pascoe set to sail from the second row.

Moon would win the initial start, but it was short lived with the yellows out on lap one for Hally who came to a grinding halt to avoid the turn four wall.

Moon again led from the complete restart and jumped away from Kane in second and Doyle in third.

The battle for third was frenetic with Doyle, Hayden Brims and Zac Pascoe coming to the stripe three wide to start lap three.

Brims and Pascoe would move through to third and fourth respectively on lap three relegating Doyle to fifth.

Hamilton having started from tenth was already up to eighth on lap four and would move to fifth on the fifth circulation taking three cars in a beautiful move around the top side of the track.

Brad Pascoe having started from twelfth had also worked his way forward to be in seventh after five laps.

Moon continued to lead from Kane, and Zac Pascoe who moved by Brims at the stripe on lap six.

The battle for second raged on with four cars under a blanket for the position. Zac Pascoe took second to relegate Kane to third. Hamilton would take fourth from Brims.

Hamilton and Brims would both move by Kane, and Kane’s race would end running out of noise to bring out the caution with nineteen laps to run.

Hamilton took second from Zac Pascoe on the restart and began to pressure Moon for the lead.

Hamilton swept right around the outside to take the lead at the stripe with sixteen laps to run.

Hughes had worked his way to fourth, ahead of Brims in fifth, and Brad Pascoe in sixth.

Brad Pascoe moved into the top five for the first time in the race on lap fourteen relegating Brims to sixth.

Brad would then move to fourth taking the position from Hughes.

Zac Pascoe made a charge for second and pulled alongside Moon on the inside. Moon looked to close the door and contact was made which sent Moon spinning around in turn one drawing the caution light with twelve laps to run.

Officials deemed Moon as the primary cause of the stoppage sending him to the rear for the restart.

Hamilton resumed in the lead with a pair of Pascoe’s hot on his hammer. Brad took second from Zac, before the yellows were out again for a big melee on the back straight.

Brims, Hughes, Sean Black, Jordan, Mick Nicola, and Justin Randall would all retire from the race after sustaining damage from the incident.

Heartbreak would strike for Hamilton, who after shutting the car off for the extended yellow flag couldn’t re-fire and would be forced to retire from the lead of the race.

Brad Pascoe would take the lead as a result from the restart with twelve laps remaining.

Zac Pascoe settled into second, with Wilson and Harper close behind duking it out for third and fourth.

Harper would clear Wilson for third with ten laps to run, and set out after the Pascoe brothers.

Harper took second from Zac with eight laps remaining and began to chase Brad down.

It would be to no avail as Brad built a big lead and would go on to greet the chequers just shy of five seconds clear of his nearest competitor.

Harper crossed the line second, after starting from thirteenth, and Zac Pascoe rounded out the podium in third.

National Champion Wilson crossed the line in fourth, and Moon recovered after his spin to complete the top five.

Post race Pascoe was ecstatic about his win, and credited his father Matty Pascoe for his help;

“Yeah massive credit to Dad, I wouldn’t be here without him, but yeah in the heats I was pretty average, and the car wasn’t all that comfortable, tuned it up a bit for the feature, and still wasn’t super comfortable, but it was good enough”

The McCosker Super Sedan Series will be back in action again this weekend with round two at Autobarn Carina Speedway.

McCosker Super Sedan Series and Ultimate Super Sedan Championship R1

A Main – 30 laps

1. Q1 Brad Pascoe, 2. T22 Callum Harper, 3. Q6 Zac Pascoe, 4. A1 Trent Wilson, 5. N47 Tyson Moon, 6. Q17 Dylan Barrow, 7. Q98 Michael Hally, 8. N29 Zac Brims, 9. N3 Tania Smith, 10. Q11 Rob Hamilton, 11. Q8 Graeme Rangihuna, 12. Q42 Michael Taylor (29), DNF Q48 JJ Hamilton (19), Q4 Sam Hughes (19), Q26 Sean Black (19), Q10 Steve Jordan (19), V3 Mick Nicola Snr (19), Q33 Justin Randall (19), Q12 David Musch (16), Q36 Darren Kane (11), Q31 Harry Doyle (10), Q11 Mitchell Gee (0), DSQ N77 Hayden Brims (19)

Images by Tony Powell.