by | May 6, 2023 | QLD, SSA Super Sedans

Official Release- Saturday 6th May 2023.

Brad Pascoe is your new Queensland Super Sedan Champion after besting one of the best fields of the season to win his first Queensland Super Sedan Title at Hi-Tec Oils Toowoomba Speedway.

Brad’s father and defending champion Matty Pascoe got his title defence off to a great start with a tight win in the opening heat of the night.

Pascoe led home gun Queensland rookie JJ Hamilton in second, and ‘The Joker’ Steve Jordan in third.Brad would make it two for two for the Pascoe team after winning heat two.

Pascoe got the best of Justin Randall in second, and Tasmanian Callum Harper in third.Tania Smith won an exciting third heat race, narrowly leading home new National Champion Trent Wilson in second, and Hayden Brims in third.

Victoria’s Ash Bergmeier got the win in heat four, leading home Tasmanian David Nichols, and Tasmanian and Victorian Champion Jamie Collins in third.

Sam Hughes conquered the field in heat five, taking a strong win from Jordan in second, and former National Modified Champion Brock Atkins in third.

Mitchell Gee took out a tight tussle in heat six.

Leading home Harper in second, and Collins in third.Darren Kane dominated from the outset in heat seven, getting the best of Brims in second, who was just able to hold off Matt Williams in third.The Nicola’s led the way in the eighth heat of the night.

Mick Jnr would take the win from Mick Snr in second, with Hamilton rounding out the podium in third.

Zac Pascoe banked thirty six valuable points in heat nine. Pascoe led home Hamilton in second who secured a front row start, and South Australian Dave Gartner in third.

Harper won an exciting heat ten to secure pole position for the forty lap main event. Matty Pascoe crossed the line second, ahead of Brims in third.

Brad Pascoe got his second win of the night in the penultimate heat race. Nichols pipped Gavin Northfield at the line by one thousandth of a second to claim the runner up spot.

Williams recorded a massive win in the final heat from fellow Rockhampton driver Michael Larsen in second, and Bergmeier in third.

Gartner, Atkins, Michael Hally, Randall, Larsen, and Tyson Moon would all transfer from the two B Mains to set the twenty four car field for the main event.

Harper and Hamilton would lead the field to the green, with Harper taking the lead into turn one. Hamilton fought back on the outside drawing side by side with Harper for the lead.

Hamilton cleared Harper and would lead at the stripe on lap three, but disaster would strike the next lap when Hamilton hooked a bump in turn four and would spin to bring out the first caution flag of the race on lap four.

Harper would lead at the restart from Brad Pascoe, Matty Pascoe, Brims and Bergmeier in the top five.

The first move came from Matty Pascoe in third who sailed around the outside of Brad to briefly take second.Brad fought back to re-take the position with thirty five laps to run.

Harper built up an advantage until the caution light was again out for a spinning Hamilton, whose race would end on the infield.

Matty Pascoe would again go to the top at the restart and run side by side with his son.

Further back in the pack Williams was also working the top side and moved from tenth to sixth in a hurry.

Back up front the lead pair of Harper and Brad Pascoe headed into heavy lap traffic.

With the lap cars rooted to the bottom of the track Harper moved up to go around them leaving the bottom open for Pascoe.

Pascoe led at the stripe as the yellows came out for a stricken Williams who had come to a grinding halt on the back straight with seventeen laps to run.

Brad Pascoe led at the restart from Harper, Brims, Bergmeier, and Matty Pascoe who had fallen to fifth.

Pascoe built a strong advantage over the chasing pack as he headed towards traffic.

Matty Pascoe railed around the outside of Bergmeier and Brims to move onto the podium with ten laps to run.

As Brad fought through traffic Harper moved to the top of track and was coming home with the wettest of sails.

Pascoe would fend off the challenge and go on to record what is sure to be first of many titles throughout his career.

Harper crossed the line in second ahead of Matty Pascoe in third.

Hayden Brims took fourth in a photo finish from Mick Nicola Jnr in fifth to round out the top five.

Official Result

Queensland Super Sedan Title A Main – 40 laps1. Q18 Brad Pascoe, 2. T22 Callum Harper, 3. Q1 Matty Pascoe, 4. N77 Hayden Brims, 5. V23 Mick Nicola Jnr, 6. V16 Ash Bergmeier, 7. Q10 Steve Jordan, 8. V3 Mick Nicola Snr, 9. T3 David Nichols, 10. Q36 Darren Kane, 11. Q11 Mitchell Gee, 12. A1 Trent Wilson, 13. B4 Sam Hughes, 14. Q6 Zac Pascoe, 15. S18 Dave Gartner, 16. N47 Tyson Moon, 17. Q98 Michael Hally (39), 18. N57 Brock Atkins (39), 19. Q8 Michael Larsen (39), 20. N3 Tania Smith (39), 21. V1 Jamie Collins (39), DNF Q3 Matt Williams, Q33 Justin Randall, Q48 JJ Hamilton